The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by nate45
I had a situation yesterday that I need some help on. It basically dealt with saving the ball to yourself. Player A was going towards the ball on the baseline as it was going out of bounds. He tried to grab the ball before it went out. He was going to fall out of bounds so he threw the ball back in. He then proceeded to watch the ball bounce, afraid to pick it up. He then went for it once he was back in bounds. Is this illegal? The other team felt it was since they thought you can't save the ball to yourself and that someone else has to touch it first? The referee said it was legal.
The referee was right. Legal save.
But it constitutes the start of a dribble. So watch-out for a double-dribble violation. Of course, it may not be legal for much longer. I'll be interested to see how they word any rule change.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Re: what about this?

Quote:
Originally posted by nate45
I had a situation yesterday that I need some help on. It basically dealt with saving the ball to yourself. Player A was going towards the ball on the baseline as it was going out of bounds. He tried to grab the ball before it went out. He was going to fall out of bounds so he threw the ball back in. He then proceeded to watch the ball bounce, afraid to pick it up. He then went for it once he was back in bounds. Is this illegal? The other team felt it was since they thought you can't save the ball to yourself and that someone else has to touch it first? The referee said it was legal.
Saving it and recovering it is legal. However, what they do after they recover can either be legal or illegal depending on how they recover. If they grab the ball with both hands they can now only pass or try for goal since the save was the beginning of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble.

Mregor

Oops, Navadaref beat me to it.

[Edited by Mregor on Jul 20th, 2004 at 07:02 PM]
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Re: what about this?

Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
However, what they do after they recover can either be legal or illegal depending on how they recover. If they grab the ball with both hands they can now only pass or try for goal since the save was the beginning of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble.
This assumes that the player had player control before "saving" the ball. Otherwise, grabbing the ball and dribbling is perfectly legal.

For example, if a ball thrown by A1 is heading out of bounds and A2 simply bats the ball back towards the playing court, then comes back and grabs the ball with both hands, A2 may dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Re: Re: what about this?

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
However, what they do after they recover can either be legal or illegal depending on how they recover. If they grab the ball with both hands they can now only pass or try for goal since the save was the beginning of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble.
This assumes that the player had player control before "saving" the ball. Otherwise, grabbing the ball and dribbling is perfectly legal.

For example, if a ball thrown by A1 is heading out of bounds and A2 simply bats the ball back towards the playing court, then comes back and grabs the ball with both hands, A2 may dribble.
The trick is to define "control" and to apply that appropriately to the saving push back toward the court. Personally, I don't see how this could ever be the start of a dribble. But I don't need another 10 page thread on the subject. We can all save ourselves a lot of time if someone could cite the link back to that brou-haha a few months ago. And Chuck is at camp this week, so it'll have to be someone else.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Re: Re: Re: what about this?

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The trick is to define "control" and to apply that appropriately to the saving push back toward the court. Personally, I don't see how this could ever be the start of a dribble. [/B]
player control = holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

If you judge that A2 held the ball before saving it back inbounds, then it is the start of a dribble. That's easily the case if A2 grabs the ball with two hands. I agree that 99+% of the time, if A2 saves the ball with one hand, it would not constitute player control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1