![]() |
|
|
|||
SHOT CLOCK ANSWER
The following response is provided by Peter Webb, Coordinator of Interpreters, IAABO, Inc.
First, the issue is not what you, I or someone else would call in this or any other situation. The issue is, the situation exists and the official must make a ruling that can be supported by the rulesbook. A simple call/judgement is not an alternative in this or any situation. The appropriate application of rules in the described situation is to: 1. continue the count 2. apply the violation (10 - seconds), should it reach that point ; the shot clock then would be a non-issue. Award the ball, to the opponent, for a throw-in at the spot nearest to where the violation occured. OR 3.upon the team successfully obtaining frontcourt status, signal time out/stop the clock and based on definite information (the official's count) correct the shot clock (remove the number of seconds counted plus one second lag time if there is not a "magic whistle" in use) then award the ball out-of-bounds,at a throw-in spot nearest to where the ball was located at the time the official signaled timeout/stop the clock to the team that was in control. The team would then have the remaining shot clock time. Rationale: To stop the clock at the 7 second count mark would cause the defense to be placed at a potential disadvantage not intended by rule (a new 10 second allowance in the backcourt) and, in the interval of time, a rule is being applied (10 second time limit) that can provide an accurate ruling for the situation. References: NCAA Rulesbook 2.3; 9.9; 2.12.14; 2.13.12 Ed Bilik, NCAA Rules Editor (interpretation) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|