The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 06, 2004, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to ref5678
i havent got the new nfhs book with the mechanic change of calling official staying table side so bare with me while i ask a ?. Lead calls a foul in front court against offense. he goes to table reports. now does he stay tableside as C ie. long switch or does he stay lead, or does he become T and admin throw in. Im pretty new to 3 person and i studied the old way not knowing this change was coming about.
Old Wed Jul 07, 2004, 07:50am
Official Forum Member

The smartest way to do it is as follows:
If no free throws are to be shot:
A. If the Lead is already tableside when he calls the foul, everyone stays right where they are. The Lead becomes the new Trail and inbounds the ball in the backcourt. C stays C opposite the table and the old Trail becomes the new Lead. This assumes that the foul was in the Lead primary. If the foul was in the C's primary, it gets goofy. (Yet another reason the Lead shouldn't be looking there!)

B. If the Lead is opposite the table, then he switches with the C. The old C will now be the new Trail and inbound in the backcourt. The old Lead is now tableside and C. Old Trail is new Lead.

If we are shooting FTs at the other end in an NFHS game or for a rebounding foul in NCAA:
C. Go to the same positions as in A, but everyone now moves down the court and administers the FTs.
D. The old T will become the new Lead and administer the FTs and will be tableside. The old Lead will switch with the old C and come tableside, but will actually end up as Trail for the the FTs. The old C will go opposite table, but will still be the C over there.

Old Wed Jul 07, 2004, 08:01am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ref5678