The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2004, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Im willing to bite and throw a monkey wrench in the works
(as if I have not stirred the pot already)

Take a look at Article 1. Verticality only has to do with legal guarding position.. and legal guarding position must be maintained.

In a rebound situation as first described. Who is guarding who? Did they establish and maintain LGP?

Rule 10 Section 6 Article 1 Extending the arms ... other than vertically so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with arms occurs is not legal... The positions are employed in rebounding, screening, and various aspects of postplay.

I might buy that if someone actually raised their arms straight up and hit the arm there may not be a foul. However if they do anything but raise their hands or arms vertically would still be a foul.

As said before just because a player is in their space it does not give the player free reign to foul to get ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1