The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pass to self or Dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14130-pass-self-dribble.html)

Nu1 Sun Jun 13, 2004 04:52pm

In looking over the dribble rules and some scenarios in the case book, a scenario came to mind.

While standing in A's backcourt, A2 receives a pass from A1. A2 then throws the ball into A's front court (approx. 30 feet from where A2 was standing) where it touches the floor and (a) A2 runs, catches up with the ball and continues a dribble, or (b) A2 runs, catches up with the ball, and picks up the ball. What would the ruling be? Legal or not?

At first thought, this scenario seemed to be illegal, like a pass to one's self. But, after reading Rule 4-15-3 it seems this would be a legal beginning to a dribble ("throwing...the ball to the floor") and therefore would be legal in (a) or (b), as in (a) it is just a continuation of the dribble and in (b) it would be a legal ending to a dribble.

Thoughts and opinions please.

Lotto Sun Jun 13, 2004 06:51pm

IMHO: Legal plays in both (a) and (b). Good reading of the rules!

BktBallRef Sun Jun 13, 2004 07:36pm

All A2 has done is started a dribble in both cases.

Now, if he runs and catches the ball before it touches the floor, that's traveling.

TravelinMan Sun Jun 13, 2004 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
In looking over the dribble rules and some scenarios in the case book, a scenario came to mind.

While standing in A's backcourt, A2 receives a pass from A1. A2 then throws the ball into A's front court (approx. 30 feet from where A2 was standing) where it touches the floor and (a) A2 runs, catches up with the ball and continues a dribble, or (b) A2 runs, catches up with the ball, and picks up the ball. What would the ruling be? Legal or not?

At first thought, this scenario seemed to be illegal, like a pass to one's self. But, after reading Rule 4-15-3 it seems this would be a legal beginning to a dribble ("throwing...the ball to the floor") and therefore would be legal in (a) or (b), as in (a) it is just a continuation of the dribble and in (b) it would be a legal ending to a dribble.

Thoughts and opinions please.

Although you don't see your scenario happen (ever?? - I know I haven't seen it), it brings to mind another scenario that does happen often and looks like traveling to fans. That is, when a player dribbles the ball (way) above his head. As far as I know, there is no rule that restricts the height of the dribble as long as you don't "carry" the ball. Correct?

Mark Padgett Sun Jun 13, 2004 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
As far as I know, there is no rule that restricts the height of the dribble as long as you don't "carry" the ball. Correct?
I guess it would be a violation if the ball was dribbled so high it hit something hanging from the ceiling. Other than that, there is no restriction.

TravelinMan Sun Jun 13, 2004 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
As far as I know, there is no rule that restricts the height of the dribble as long as you don't "carry" the ball. Correct?
I guess it would be a violation if the ball was dribbled so high it hit something hanging from the ceiling. Other than that, there is no restriction.

Right, Mark, that is the only situation I could think of also. High dribble usually happens when younger players try to fast break. Looks real ugly.

rainmaker Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:42pm

With regard to a high dribble, if it's high enough and the player is moving fast enough, I think it's possible for it to be a violation without the hand ever being under the ball. The hand could be on top, with the ball at rest sort of cradled between the hand and the wrist or lower arm. I would call this a carry. Usually, though, the player has little or no contact, and the ball is basically out of control. I mean, generally a high dribble is an accident, not a strategy.

Black&White Mon Jun 14, 2004 04:44am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mark Padgett
[B]
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
As far as I know, there is no rule that restricts the height of the dribble as long as you don't "carry" the ball. Correct?
In relation to that, as long as the player can dribble with his hand on the top part of the ball, he can dribble as high as he likes/can. Its does look very funny watching some of the less experienced tall players dribble like that :D

Camron Rust Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
In looking over the dribble rules and some scenarios in the case book, a scenario came to mind.

While standing in A's backcourt, A2 receives a pass from A1. A2 then throws the ball into A's front court (approx. 30 feet from where A2 was standing) where it touches the floor and (a) A2 runs, catches up with the ball and continues a dribble, or (b) A2 runs, catches up with the ball, and picks up the ball. What would the ruling be? Legal or not?

At first thought, this scenario seemed to be illegal, like a pass to one's self. But, after reading Rule 4-15-3 it seems this would be a legal beginning to a dribble ("throwing...the ball to the floor") and therefore would be legal in (a) or (b), as in (a) it is just a continuation of the dribble and in (b) it would be a legal ending to a dribble.

Thoughts and opinions please.

Although you don't see your scenario happen (ever?? - I know I haven't seen it)....

Legal, as others have said.

While not often, I have seen it. The only place I've seen it used is on a break. A1 pulls down a long rebound from B1's shot and turns and tosses the ball out in front of him while starting to run to his end.

TravelinMan Mon Jun 14, 2004 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
In looking over the dribble rules and some scenarios in the case book, a scenario came to mind.

While standing in A's backcourt, A2 receives a pass from A1. A2 then throws the ball into A's front court (approx. 30 feet from where A2 was standing) where it touches the floor and (a) A2 runs, catches up with the ball and continues a dribble, or (b) A2 runs, catches up with the ball, and picks up the ball. What would the ruling be? Legal or not?

At first thought, this scenario seemed to be illegal, like a pass to one's self. But, after reading Rule 4-15-3 it seems this would be a legal beginning to a dribble ("throwing...the ball to the floor") and therefore would be legal in (a) or (b), as in (a) it is just a continuation of the dribble and in (b) it would be a legal ending to a dribble.

Thoughts and opinions please.

Although you don't see your scenario happen (ever?? - I know I haven't seen it)....

Legal, as others have said.

While not often, I have seen it. The only place I've seen it used is on a break. A1 pulls down a long rebound from B1's shot and turns and tosses the ball out in front of him while starting to run to his end.

Wow..... so it is kinda like a 1 man give and go! LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1