The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2001, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Lightbulb No, Mark,...

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Indy_ref:
I think the main difference in your case is that FRONT physically pushed her hands out to move BACK out of the way. Even if entitled to vertical space, she cannot intentionally (not an I foul) push someone she knows is there out of the way.

In a jumping situation, FRONT (once in the air) cannot control her height (gravity does that nicely.) If BACK is there, then BACK is subjecting herself to contact which is either a no-call (my personal thinking) or a foul on BACK.
The point that I was making had to do with the fact that BACK violated FRONT's VERTICAL PLANE in order to grab the ball, however, BACK NEVER created any contact. Therefore, in my opinion, BACK never committed a foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1