The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 13, 2001, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
BktBallRef - how do you think you would apply this case if the ball was tipped by one hand, lands FC, then a line- straddling player dribbles it? Is that a fumble, or is the ball already FC and as soon as the dribble commences it is BC?
Sorry coach, I didn't see it!

I'm not sure about the particular play. It's listed on the NF's website. Some good points were made about fumbles and starting a dribble.

It compared two different plays. The NF play says, "Same situation as above, except A1 begins a dribble immediately upon fumbling the ball and retreats to his/her backcourt to avoid a defender." Bob Jenkins suggested that perhaps the NF was saying that the player started the dribble prior to the ball hitting the floor. I think that's a possibility. The plays, #1 and #6, are supposed to be identical with the exception. But like some many things with the NF, the play is not really clear as to whether the ball did or did not hit the floor. As Bob said, don't heard your breth waiting for a clarification. Until they do, I've got a legal play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1