The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quirk in NF timeout rule? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/13869-quirk-nf-timeout-rule.html)

Mark Padgett Thu May 27, 2004 12:42pm

In another thread, Camron posted: "Only when the ball is live are there restrictions on who can call timeout....only the team that has a player control (not team control)."

This got me to thinking (which, my wife tells me, can be very dangerous). On an inbound play, the ball becomes live when at the disposal of the inbounder. However, there is no team or player control at that point, since player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Also however, the defending team may not legally be granted a TO during this time.

Is this consistent with the theory that, during a live ball, only the team in player control may legally be granted a TO?

Is there a written exception to this in NF rules?

blindzebra Thu May 27, 2004 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
In another thread, Camron posted: "Only when the ball is live are there restrictions on who can call timeout....only the team that has a player control (not team control)."

This got me to thinking (which, my wife tells me, can be very dangerous). On an inbound play, the ball becomes live when at the disposal of the inbounder. However, there is no team or player control at that point, since player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Also however, the defending team may not legally be granted a TO during this time.

Is this consistent with the theory that, during a live ball, only the team in player control may legally be granted a TO?

Is there a written exception to this in NF rules?

5-8 ART.3 a. The ball is in control or at the DISPOSAL of a player of his/her team.

lrpalmer3 Thu May 27, 2004 01:28pm

Don't you love it when they're this easy?

But let me ask this about the college inbound rules. First let me state some rules (please correct me if I am wrong on any of these).

1. An NCAA inbound ends when a player controls the ball.
2. A NFHS inbound ends when a player touches the ball.
3. NCAA and NFHS possession arrows are switched after the inbounds ends.

Can someone describe a play in which this makes a difference?

[Edited by lrpalmer3 on May 27th, 2004 at 02:33 PM]

blindzebra Thu May 27, 2004 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
Don't you love it when they're this easy?
It won't be, MTD will have a cone of disposability around the thrower that does not permit a time out.

[Edited by blindzebra on May 27th, 2004 at 02:36 PM]

blindzebra Thu May 27, 2004 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
Don't you love it when they're this easy?

But let me ask this about the college inbound rules. First let me state some rules (please correct me if I am wrong on any of these).

1. An NCAA inbound ends when a player controls the ball.
2. A NFHS inbound ends when a player touches the ball.
3. NCAA and NFHS possession arrows are switched after the inbounds ends.

Can someone describe a play in which this makes a difference?

[Edited by lrpalmer3 on May 27th, 2004 at 02:33 PM]

You'd be talking about the team control foul in NCAA.

Jurassic Referee Thu May 27, 2004 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
Don't you love it when they're this easy?
It won't be, MTD will have a cone of disposability around the thrower that does not permit a time out.


Actually, there's also a "cone of verticality" directly over top of the OOB line on a throw-in. This is a special "cone of verticality" though, because it's a <font color = red>"one-way cone of verticality"</font>. The thrower can reach through this <font color = red>"one-way cone of verticality"</font>, but a defensive player CANNOT reach through the exact same <font color = red>"one-way cone of verticality"</font>.

And so endeth today's lesson! :D



<i>"There are 2 things that I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people and the French"</i>
- Mark Padgett

Dan_ref Thu May 27, 2004 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
Don't you love it when they're this easy?

But let me ask this about the college inbound rules. First let me state some rules (please correct me if I am wrong on any of these).

1. An NCAA inbound ends when a player controls the ball.
2. A NFHS inbound ends when a player touches the ball.
3. NCAA and NFHS possession arrows are switched after the inbounds ends.

Can someone describe a play in which this makes a difference?

[Edited by lrpalmer3 on May 27th, 2004 at 02:33 PM]

Yep.

Under ncaa we do not shot bonus ft's when the foul is by the team in control. Team control begins on the throw-in when the ball's at the disposal- can't shoot bonus ft's. If the throw-in ended on the tip, you could have a period of time where there is NO team control (and could shoot bonus ft's) after the ball is released on the throw-in and before the ball is controlled on the court (once again could not shoot bonus ft's). That is how the rule was read when this change was made 2 yrs ago. Last year the rule was re-worded and eliminated this case by saying the throw-in ends on a player controlling the inbounds pass. Meaning there's team control even on the tip and you don't shoot ft's on the throw-in until there's player control.

Kinda confusng...get it?

(BTW, when I say shooting ft's I mean shooting ft's on what amounts to "offensive fouls" in the above example.)

Dan_ref Thu May 27, 2004 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

<i>"There are 2 things that I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people and the French"</i>
- Mark Padgett

Intolerance is something I will not put up with!

rainmaker Thu May 27, 2004 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

<i>"There are 2 things that I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people and the French"</i>
- Mark Padgett

Intolerance is something I will not put up with!


Dan -- There's that non-U grammar again! Never end a sentence with a preposition.

Try, "Intolerance is something up with which I will not put." See?

Jurassic Referee Thu May 27, 2004 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

<i>"There are 2 things that I hate in this world. People who are intolerant of other people and the French"</i>
- Mark Padgett

Intolerance is something I will not put up with!


Dan -- There's that non-U grammar again! Never end a sentence with a preposition.

Try, "Intolerance is something up with which I will not put." See?

Or alternatively....

<i>Intolerance is something that I will not put up with, moron."</i>

Is that better, Juulie?

Ref Ump Welsch Thu May 27, 2004 05:08pm

So Mark, I guess my wife isn't the only one who thinks her husband actually thinking is dangerous!

Mark Padgett Thu May 27, 2004 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
So Mark, I guess my wife isn't the only one who thinks her husband actually thinking is dangerous!
As I've mentioned before, my wife has a key chain that states "Men are like dogs - dumb but trainable"

BTW - I didn't say that stuff about the French as posted above, although it is clever. My statements about them are usually more in the vein that they're a bunch of cheese eating surrender monkeys.

I heard that when EuroDisney opened and they set off fireworks, the entire French army surrendered.

My bumper sticker states: "Cut domestic cheese".

Ref Ump Welsch Thu May 27, 2004 06:16pm

Mark,

I heard the newspaper in Paris had the headline that said "Americans go Home" and next thing you know, all the American men had been eliminated from the French Open. How ironic is that????

Camron Rust Thu May 27, 2004 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
In another thread, Camron posted: "Only when the ball is live are there restrictions on who can call timeout....only the team that has a player control (not team control)."

This got me to thinking (which, my wife tells me, can be very dangerous). On an inbound play, the ball becomes live when at the disposal of the inbounder. However, there is no team or player control at that point, since player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. Also however, the defending team may not legally be granted a TO during this time.

Is this consistent with the theory that, during a live ball, only the team in player control may legally be granted a TO?

Is there a written exception to this in NF rules?

OK. I was a litte incomplete (or maybe inaccurate depending on how you look at it).

Perhaps better a better statement:

<em>Only when the ball is live are there restrictions on who can call timeout....only the team that has a player control (not just team control) or has the ball at their disposal for a throw-in or free throw.</em>


ref18 Thu May 27, 2004 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
So Mark, I guess my wife isn't the only one who thinks her husband actually thinking is dangerous!
As I've mentioned before, my wife has a key chain that states "Men are like dogs - dumb but trainable"

BTW - I didn't say that stuff about the French as posted above, although it is clever. My statements about them are usually more in the vein that they're a bunch of cheese eating surrender monkeys.

I heard that when EuroDisney opened and they set off fireworks, the entire French army surrendered.

My bumper sticker states: "Cut domestic cheese".

lmfao http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung...smiley-014.gif

lrpalmer3 Thu May 27, 2004 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
Don't you love it when they're this easy?

But let me ask this about the college inbound rules. First let me state some rules (please correct me if I am wrong on any of these).

1. An NCAA inbound ends when a player controls the ball.
2. A NFHS inbound ends when a player touches the ball.
3. NCAA and NFHS possession arrows are switched after the inbounds ends.

Can someone describe a play in which this makes a difference?

[Edited by lrpalmer3 on May 27th, 2004 at 02:33 PM]

Yep.

Under ncaa we do not shot bonus ft's when the foul is by the team in control. Team control begins on the throw-in when the ball's at the disposal- can't shoot bonus ft's. If the throw-in ended on the tip, you could have a period of time where there is NO team control (and could shoot bonus ft's) after the ball is released on the throw-in and before the ball is controlled on the court (once again could not shoot bonus ft's). That is how the rule was read when this change was made 2 yrs ago. Last year the rule was re-worded and eliminated this case by saying the throw-in ends on a player controlling the inbounds pass. Meaning there's team control even on the tip and you don't shoot ft's on the throw-in until there's player control.

Kinda confusng...get it?

(BTW, when I say shooting ft's I mean shooting ft's on what amounts to "offensive fouls" in the above example.)

Very clear actually. Thanks.

Tee Fri May 28, 2004 09:43am

A little confused on the basics
 
Could you please explain under NFHS- at what point after a made basket can the defensive team be granted a time out?

Ball drops out of the basket-

Offensive player grabs ball and heads for the baseline-

Offensive player is set up to throw ball inbounds-

I have always used the "at the disposal of the thrower" to mean a reasonable amount of time to recover the ball- at that point I begin my count. I guess if I'm counting that means no timeout?

Sometimes the thrower chooses not to pick up the ball, hoping I will delay my count until he has the ball in his hand- can a timeout be granted to the defensive team then? I will be counting...

Another complication- the thrower throws the ball to me (as they do occasionally) does this affect the count? I see many officials begin the count at that point- thus effectivly allowing an extra second or so to the thrower.

Jurassic Referee Fri May 28, 2004 10:08am

After a made basket(field goal or FT), either team can request a TO until the ball is at the disposal of the team throwing the ball in. "Disposal" just basically means that a player on the team scored against either grabs the ball, or is in a position to grab the ball if he/she wanted to- <b>in the official's opinion</b>. After the ball is at the disposal or in the hands of a player of the team throwing the ball in, you start your 5-second count, and then only that team can be granted a TO request.

If a player on the team with the throw-in tosses the ball to me, I think that it's a straight judgement call whether you start your count then, or start it after you toss the ball back to him. If you think that they are throwing the ball to you to gain an advantage- like maybe gaining some extra time to set up a throw-in play, then you can start your count on the first touch. As I said, that's the official's judgement imo. Personally, I've always been a little leary of starting that early count. I'm not smart enough to read the mind of the player tossing the ball to me, so I'll usually give them the benefit of the doubt- unless they're doing it in the last coupla seconds of a game in which they are ahead.

Mark Padgett Fri May 28, 2004 10:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee


If a player on the team with the throw-in tosses the ball to me, I think that it's a straight judgement call whether you start your count then, or start it after you toss the ball back to him.

If a player on the team with the throw-in tosses the ball to me, I just move out of the way and start my visual count.

Man - you should see the reaction I get. The coach starts yelling at the player to get the ball and the player runs after it like he just had his girlfriend tell him her parents were away for the weekend.

BTW - they usually do this only once, then they get the message.

SamIAm Fri May 28, 2004 10:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

If a player on the team with the throw-in tosses the ball to me, I just move out of the way and start my visual count.

Man - you should see the reaction I get. The coach starts yelling at the player to get the ball and the player runs after it like he just had his girlfriend tell him her parents were away for the weekend.

BTW - they usually do this only once, then they get the message.
Mark, I like that, especially with highschool kids.

Dan_ref Fri May 28, 2004 10:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

If a player on the team with the throw-in tosses the ball to me, I just move out of the way and start my visual count.

Man - you should see the reaction I get. The coach starts yelling at the player to get the ball and the player runs after it like he just had his girlfriend tell him her parents were away for the weekend.

BTW - they usually do this only once, then they get the message.

Mark, maybe it's a regional thing, but why would a teenage boy run after a basketball when his gf just told him they have the run of her house for the weekend?

Jurassic Referee Fri May 28, 2004 11:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Mark, maybe it's a regional thing, but why would a teenage boy run after a basketball when his gf just told him they have the run of her house for the weekend?

[/B][/QUOTE]Why would ANY age boy run after a basketball, given that choice? I'm there.

I await the inevitable Viagara jokes.

rainmaker Fri May 28, 2004 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

Mark, maybe it's a regional thing, but why would a teenage boy run after a basketball when his gf just told him they have the run of her house for the weekend?

Why would ANY age boy run after a basketball, given that choice? I'm there.

There may be a few teen-age basketball players who wouldn't care much about the GIRLfriend's parents.

lrpalmer3 Fri May 28, 2004 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett

Man - you should see the reaction I get. The coach starts yelling at the player to get the ball and the player runs after it like he just had his girlfriend tell him her parents were away for the weekend.

BTW - they usually do this only once, then they get the message.

That's what I'm talking about, let's bring the fun back to officiating. I can't wait to do this, but I may burst out in laughter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1