![]() |
Hi Everyone- Our local Educator called me the other day and had this situation.
Player dives for a lose ball slides along the floor and comes to a stop in control of the ball. The player is face down belly to the floor in a fully extended position-What can he/she do now? I said the player can: 1 Call time out; 2 Start a dribble and stand up; 3 Pass or shoot the ball;or 4 Wait to be tied up and go to the arrow. I said the player can't stand up or roll over without violating. Unfortunately we are just reverting to NCAA Men's rules in this area and as yet have not received our Case Books. HELP!!! |
What's happening Pete. Hope you had a great New Year.
Not much to add here because you're exactly right. |
Can she leave the ball on the floor, get up and then pick the ball up?
|
I don't see why not, but would you consider that a dribble?
|
I believe if the player begins to dribble *before* she attempts to stand up, it's a legal play...? I know she can't roll over, and I wouldn't see why she couldn't call time out. Waiting for a jump would be silly, but I guess that's OK too...as long as she's not fouled. Of course, if I'm a coach and I've got a player who can score from her stomach....that's my offense! Two points for ability! (Legal play, too!)
|
Quote:
|
The player cannot place the ball on the floor and get up, then be the first to touch the ball. It would be travelling. This is per the case book 4.43.5B Good Question!!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
You learn something new every day!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now, if he/she were to put the ball down, stand, then guard the ball (like during a kickoff in football), another teammate could pick it up. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23pm. |