The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 05:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
A question came up about a play.

A1 rolls the ball on the floor and recovers the ball.

Does this fit the definition of a dribble? If not, what is it? Can it be repeated?

I am interested in your rulings and why.

There is nothing in the rule book that prohibits a player rolling a ball. Rolling the ball does not meet the definition of a dribble. The player is not batting or pushing the ball to the floor once or several times, as per the definition of a dribble in NFHS R4-15-1. Legal play- no rule against it, and the existing rules do not cover it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1