The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
1) I don't have access to my books right now-the new alignment calls for a maximum of four defensive and two offensive players along the lane lines. If an offensive player opts not to line up can the defensive player position himself in his spot? NF and NCAA Men's please

Second question.
2) I was watching a game (rec league NF rules) the other day and the tapper after tapping caught the tap before it touched the floor or another player. He passed the ball immedietely without dribbling. I questioned the official and he said as long as he didn't dribble it was a legal act-again I don't have access of my books. NF please

1) The answer is yes in both NCAA & NFHS rulesets.

2)Violation on the jumper. Can't catch the ball before the ball hits a non-jumper or the floor,backboard or basket.
#1 As long as it is still only 4 defensive players, the only spots that have requirements are the bottom two, that need to be occupied by the defense, and the top space, which must be empty.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1