The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2000, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Lee Jones
Question

Interesting situation...... B1 is called for a foul on a shot at the end of the period (Clock showing 0:00 and horn sounding). After the 1st of the two free throws, Coach of Team B is given a Technical foul for negative critique of the call. The second free throw for the foul is shot, then the two free throws for the T are shot. Since the T was called before the free throws for the foul were completed, the period had not ended and therefore the T was a part of the period and the shots taken during the period. Now, the question is, do you use the possession arrow to begin the next period, or is the POSSESSION part of the Technical foul penalty enforced at this time, with the arrow being ignored until the next appropriate time? The case book does not really give a clear answer to this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2000, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
You must still use the arrow for the possesion to start the next Qtr or half.

5-6-3 No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one Qtr or extra period to the next.

After all FT's are shot end the Qtr.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 30, 2000, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Go to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1