The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Apr 17, 2004, 12:29am
Official Forum Member

Called a T on a fan. I have never done this before. I have a pretty thick skin. He's the sitch.

Pretty close game Team A has a 8-10 point lead and holding. 16 minutes stop clock halves. About 10 minutes left in game, I noticed that the clock seemed to have more time on it than it should, but didn't see any problems. The gym clock wasn't working so we were using a portable that stayed on the table.

During a Time Out, a "mom" comes up to me while I'm on the blocks telling me that about three minutes of game went by but the clock didn't run. I told here there was nothing we could do about it and would tell the timekeeper to stay more attention. The time keeper was actually one of Team A's girls as required by the tournament. So, she wanted to know who she could talk to to correct it. She had it on video tape, so assumed we could all just go over the tape and adject the time as needed. I told her we couldn't do it. So, she wanted to argue about the other team (B) was making a run and would have more time to do so. Finally, I gave her the stop sign and told her that was enough. She left.

A few minutes later, she reappeared in the gym and as she walked by me during a live ball, started scolding me about we really need to watch the clock.

Tweet. That's a T on Blue. Explained it to the coaches and they understood. B made one of the free throws and tied the game. It remained close and B won by 1 point.

She came up and told me she had not said anything to me. So as diplomatically as I could I told her that perhaps I heard it wrong and if I did I am sorry. Afterwards I had other parents apologize for her.
Old Sat Apr 17, 2004, 12:35am
Official Forum Member

Why the T? Just throw her out of the gym!
Old Sat Apr 17, 2004, 02:17am
Whack! Get Out!!!