![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I got a held ball here.
Camron recently posted a summary of the relevant rulings. 1) Defense touches ball, causing it to come loose: anyone may recover the ball, no travel if shooter catches and returns to floor. 2) Defense touches ball, preventing release of shot: held ball immediately. 3) Defense touches ball, but does not prevent release of shot: travel, if shooter returns to the floor while holding the ball. My own judgment is usually not good enough to determine when #3 happens. If the ball is touched intentionally (not just brushed by accident by the defense), it usually looks to me like the release of the shot was prevented and I go with #2.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|