The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1294-2-questions.html)

Ralph Stubenthal Thu Dec 21, 2000 12:53pm

A jump ball is called between A1 and B1. A loud profanity is issued by B1 and a T is called. A2 shoots 2 shots and the ball goes to team A at division line. What happens to the jump ball? Lets say the arrow was going to team B. Does it remain pointing to team B or should it be reversed even though they didn't receive the ball?



Here's another situation that I'll probably never see. We have a T shooter at the line for 2 shots. The 1st shot is taken and then we hear the horn and a sub wants in. Should you let the sub in or make her wait until the ball goes to the division line?

Bradley Batt Thu Dec 21, 2000 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ralph Stubenthal
A jump ball is called between A1 and B1. A loud profanity is issued by B1 and a T is called. A2 shoots 2 shots and the ball goes to team A at division line. What happens to the jump ball? Lets say the arrow was going to team B. Does it remain pointing to team B or should it be reversed even though they didn't receive the ball?

The AP arrow changes when the throw-in is completed or if there is a throw-in violation. Neither occurs in this scenario, so it stays put. (This is why it is important that the table doesn't switch the arrow as soon as a jump ball occurs)

Quote:


Here's another situation that I'll probably never see. We have a T shooter at the line for 2 shots. The 1st shot is taken and then we hear the horn and a sub wants in. Should you let the sub in or make her wait until the ball goes to the division line?

The sub could be for the shooter (since anyone can shoot technical free throws - even one player for one shot and another for the next). If so, obviously you let the sub in. If not, it might take longer to tell the sub to wait and then wave him in after the free throw - so you might want to inject a little common sense and just let the sub in.

Also, remember on this play that the "can't return until the clock has run" rule does apply to any players who leave (i.e. the coach cannot sub A6 for A1 to shoot the free throws and then sub A1 back in the game until after some time has run off the clock).

Suppref Thu Dec 21, 2000 01:53pm

Scenario one:
Since the throw -in for the alternating posession never ended(or began for that matter)the arrow stays in B's direction.

Scenario two:
The subsitute can be allowed in to shoot the second free throw so let her in!

Mark Padgett Thu Dec 21, 2000 02:18pm

Try to always remember that a penalty that includes possession (such as a technical or intentional foul) NEVER has any bearing on the AP arrow.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1