The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2000, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
However, 3.3.1c in the case book states that A6 is CALLED BACK TO THE BENCH and re-reports to enter the game for another player. It doesn't say anything about his STAYING at the table but the coach changes his mind and tells him to enter for A2 instead of A1 BEFORE THE BALL BECOMES DEAD.


[Edited by Indy_Ref on Dec 21st, 2000 at 11:57 AM]
We must be reading a different 3.3.1C. Mine says (emphasis added) If A6 remains at the table he/she may actually replace a different player if such request is made when the next opportunity for substitution occurs.

So, it has nothing to do with going back to the bench, and nothing to do with making the request before the ball becomes dead.

In the case, A6 reports, but can't enter immediately. In your instance, A6 reports, but can't enter immediately. The reasons they can't enter are slightly different, but that doesn't matter. They can still be withdrawn, and still can replace someone else.

Other than having the exact same play in the case book that you asked about, I don't think this could be much clearer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1