The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12747-legal.html)

Erik Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:28pm

Hello,
I just have a question that maybe one of you guys can answer. Okay, say you're on defense opposite your opponent, who has the ball and whom you are closely guarding. Now, to try to get past you, said opponent, both hands on the ball, punches you with the ball. Is this legal? Is any sort of purposeful contact by an opponent in posseion of the ball towards another player legal? I really need an answer A.S.A.P. Thanks!

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Erik
Hello,
I just have a question that maybe one of you guys can answer. Okay, say you're on defense opposite your opponent, who has the ball and whom you are closely guarding. Now, to try to get past you, said opponent, both hands on the ball, punches you with the ball. Is this legal? Is any sort of purposeful contact by an opponent in posseion of the ball towards another player legal? I really need an answer A.S.A.P. Thanks!

Yes, that purposeful contact is illegal. Depending upon the level of ball you are playing the foul may be a player control foul, a team control foul, an intentional foul or a flagrant foul.
This assumes the contact was not merely incidental.
mick

One-Whistle Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:49pm

Erik
 
This is one of those plays that an official has to witness to make an accurate ruling, which will also afford the said official an opportunity to explian the criteria of his (no) call. There are so many variables that influence this call, such as: age level, type of game it has been played to this point, etc...

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:04pm

I'd say unsportsmanlike T.


BktBallRef Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:06pm

There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:13pm

It can't be a common or an intentional foul, because there was no contact between the two players. It would have to be either an unsporting T, or a flagerant T depending on how much force was used.

I know for sure something's getting called.

But of course, this is only my opinion ;)

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:14pm

I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:17pm

Re: I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[

[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick [/B]
Just out of curiosity, in this situation, wouldn't the thrower have committed a violation. He put the ball over the plane, and it touched someone, so then wouldn't he be out of bounds???

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:25pm

Re: Re: I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[

[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick
Just out of curiosity, in this situation, wouldn't the thrower have committed a violation. He put the ball over the plane, and it touched someone, so then wouldn't he be out of bounds??? [/B]
But the ball hadn't been released.
If we do it with your thought, we would never have a defender able to take the ball out of the in-thrower's hands when the in-thrower held it over the line; we would never have that weird held ball; it would be a violation. ;)
mick

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:30pm

that makes sense.

Just a question about that wierd held ball, does team b get the AP throw-in, or does the arrow stay with a??

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
that makes sense.

Just a question about that wierd held ball, does team b get the AP throw-in, or does the arrow stay with a??

7.6.3 Situation F (Ruling)

Forksref Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:10am

I always like to witness a play before making an accurate ruling.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

BktBallRef Wed Mar 17, 2004 01:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

Where?

Unless you can produce it, yes, I'm sure! :)

mick, you weren't fouled, you were mugged. There's a difference. ;)

blindzebra Wed Mar 17, 2004 02:41am

4-7-2

d. The player with the ball may not push the torso of the guard to gain an advantage to pass, shoot or dribble.

Now if the hand is considered part of the ball could one gather that the ball should be considered part of the hand?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1