The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12747-legal.html)

Erik Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:28pm

Hello,
I just have a question that maybe one of you guys can answer. Okay, say you're on defense opposite your opponent, who has the ball and whom you are closely guarding. Now, to try to get past you, said opponent, both hands on the ball, punches you with the ball. Is this legal? Is any sort of purposeful contact by an opponent in posseion of the ball towards another player legal? I really need an answer A.S.A.P. Thanks!

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Erik
Hello,
I just have a question that maybe one of you guys can answer. Okay, say you're on defense opposite your opponent, who has the ball and whom you are closely guarding. Now, to try to get past you, said opponent, both hands on the ball, punches you with the ball. Is this legal? Is any sort of purposeful contact by an opponent in posseion of the ball towards another player legal? I really need an answer A.S.A.P. Thanks!

Yes, that purposeful contact is illegal. Depending upon the level of ball you are playing the foul may be a player control foul, a team control foul, an intentional foul or a flagrant foul.
This assumes the contact was not merely incidental.
mick

One-Whistle Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:49pm

Erik
 
This is one of those plays that an official has to witness to make an accurate ruling, which will also afford the said official an opportunity to explian the criteria of his (no) call. There are so many variables that influence this call, such as: age level, type of game it has been played to this point, etc...

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:04pm

I'd say unsportsmanlike T.


BktBallRef Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:06pm

There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:13pm

It can't be a common or an intentional foul, because there was no contact between the two players. It would have to be either an unsporting T, or a flagerant T depending on how much force was used.

I know for sure something's getting called.

But of course, this is only my opinion ;)

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:14pm

I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:17pm

Re: I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[

[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick [/B]
Just out of curiosity, in this situation, wouldn't the thrower have committed a violation. He put the ball over the plane, and it touched someone, so then wouldn't he be out of bounds???

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:25pm

Re: Re: I know what you mean....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
[

[College intramurals]
An in-thrower (holding the ball with both hands), that I was face-guarding, hit me in the face with the ball (still holding the ball with both hands) and cut my eye. I thought I was fouled, ... but I wasn't. :cool:

mick
Just out of curiosity, in this situation, wouldn't the thrower have committed a violation. He put the ball over the plane, and it touched someone, so then wouldn't he be out of bounds??? [/B]
But the ball hadn't been released.
If we do it with your thought, we would never have a defender able to take the ball out of the in-thrower's hands when the in-thrower held it over the line; we would never have that weird held ball; it would be a violation. ;)
mick

ref18 Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:30pm

that makes sense.

Just a question about that wierd held ball, does team b get the AP throw-in, or does the arrow stay with a??

mick Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
that makes sense.

Just a question about that wierd held ball, does team b get the AP throw-in, or does the arrow stay with a??

7.6.3 Situation F (Ruling)

Forksref Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:10am

I always like to witness a play before making an accurate ruling.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

BktBallRef Wed Mar 17, 2004 01:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

Where?

Unless you can produce it, yes, I'm sure! :)

mick, you weren't fouled, you were mugged. There's a difference. ;)

blindzebra Wed Mar 17, 2004 02:41am

4-7-2

d. The player with the ball may not push the torso of the guard to gain an advantage to pass, shoot or dribble.

Now if the hand is considered part of the ball could one gather that the ball should be considered part of the hand?

Nevadaref Wed Mar 17, 2004 03:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

Where?

Unless you can produce it, yes, I'm sure! :)

mick, you weren't fouled, you were mugged. There's a difference. ;)

Here's where I read it:
12-1-3 ...A goalkeeper shall not strike or attempt to strike an opponent by throwing or kicking the ball at an opponent or by pushing an opponent with the ball while holding it.
Oh, wait, this the basketball board. Note to self: say out loud three times, basketball rules, basketball rules, basketball rules.... :o

Camron Rust Wed Mar 17, 2004 11:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
There's no case play or interpretation from the NFHS or NCAA that says this is a foul. You will find that opinions vary on this play as some say that it is a foul, other's say that it isn't.
Are you sure about this? I remember reading something about this play once.

Where?

Unless you can produce it, yes, I'm sure! :)

mick, you weren't fouled, you were mugged. There's a difference. ;)

I also remember reading it at some point in the past. Perhaps it wasn't in the "book" IIRC but it was in an interpretation. The basis was that you can't push someone, even if you use the ball to do it. The ball, for the spirit of the rule, is considered an extension of the hand.

By the strictest reading of the rules, most of what we call fouls would not be since the contact is often through the shirt and not directly skin-to-skin. ;)

Mark Dexter Wed Mar 17, 2004 11:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

12-1-3 ...A goalkeeper shall not strike or attempt to strike an opponent by throwing or kicking the ball at an opponent or by pushing an opponent with the ball while holding it.
Oh, wait, this the basketball board. Note to self: say out loud three times, basketball rules, basketball rules, basketball rules.... :o

Rule TWELVE

What kind of crazy *#&# are you trying to bring on to this board? :p

SamIAm Wed Mar 17, 2004 11:40am

ref18,

In that "weird held ball" situation, the arrow does not change. If the ball is being in-bounded as a result of a jump-ball, the team in-bounding the ball does not lose the arrow.

Erik Wed Mar 17, 2004 04:56pm

Thank you to all those who answered my question, but I have another one. Same situation only the one in possesion of the ball has stopped moving. He/she cannot move again because of the double dribble rule, so they throw the ball at you in order to be able to move again. Is this legal? Also, does the five-second rule apply after you have stopped moving, or the whole time you are in possesion, regardless of wether you are idle or not. Thanks again

rainmaker Wed Mar 17, 2004 04:57pm

We've discussed this on this board in the past, and if I remember correctly, we ended up agreeing with BktBallRef, that if there's no body contact it's not a foul. At least, most of us agreed. I don't know if we EVER all agree about anything!

ref18 Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
We've discussed this on this board in the past, and if I remember correctly, we ended up agreeing with BktBallRef, that if there's no body contact it's not a foul. At least, most of us agreed. I don't know if we EVER all agree about anything!
Rainmaker's right. Without body contact, you cannot have a personal foul. But you can still have an unsporting T.

Mark Dexter Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Erik
Thank you to all those who answered my question, but I have another one. Same situation only the one in possesion of the ball has stopped moving. He/she cannot move again because of the double dribble rule, so they throw the ball at you in order to be able to move again. Is this legal?


Yup - watch the next time the inbounder can't make the pass, so he throws it off the defender and it ricochets right OOB.

Quote:

Also, does the five-second rule apply after you have stopped moving, or the whole time you are in possesion, regardless of wether you are idle or not. Thanks again
By moving, do you mean dribbling? There is a 5 second count when you are dribbling (whether stationary or moving), then a SEPARATE 5 second count for holding the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1