The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2004, 03:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref


If it had been done correctly, the offended team would receive the ball as part of the penalty on the T. But since the free throws were shot before the halftime intermission, and we know that no part of a penalty can carry over from one quarter to the next, I believe that the AP arrow now has to be used to start the 3rd Q.

Back to your original post:

The FT's WERE shot AFTER the 2nd quarter ended. They were NOT shot as part of the 2nd. quarter. Ergo, rule 5-6-4 applies, even though the timing of shooting the FT's was screwed up. The FT's were justified, so there is no correctible error. You were trying to justify an AP by using rule 5-6-3, and that rule is NOT and never WAS applicable. It is NOT applicable because the T occurred AFTER the quarter ended, and it is NOT part of the "related activity" of the previous quarter.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1