The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Ask The Referee" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12619-ask-referee.html)

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:57pm

http://www.lebcohoops.com/referee.htm

...and this, my friends, is how those myths perpetuate themselves...

Adam Mon Mar 08, 2004 05:08pm

Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.

Mark Padgett Mon Mar 08, 2004 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.
I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one.

zebracz Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
http://www.lebcohoops.com/referee.htm

...and this, my friends, is how those myths perpetuate themselves...

" I think he is wrong about when the clock starts, in # 4, as well."

..not sure, though.

mthomas Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz
Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
http://www.lebcohoops.com/referee.htm

...and this, my friends, is how those myths perpetuate themselves...

" I think he is wrong about when the clock starts, in # 4, as well."

..not sure, though.


1) The clock does not start until the ball is touched by a player on the court.

Page 45 (Rules section), Sec. 9, Art. 4 "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower."


2) The player may touch the ball FIRST after saving the ball and coming back onto the court.

Page 51 (Case book section), 7.1.1. Situation D "A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches teh ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds, (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.
Ruling: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after PICKING up the ball is an illegal dribble violation.

DJ Tue Mar 09, 2004 03:35pm

One foot
 
And he can pick up the ball with only one foot down on the court after returning as long as the other foot is not touching out of bounds.

mplagrow Tue Mar 09, 2004 07:13pm

one foot
 
But both feet have to be down in bounds for a legal reception in the pros. NCAA only requires that you get one foot in bounds. And throw your hat on the ground when the player runs out of bounds.

I guess what I'm trying to say that "Ask a Referee" should make sure he knows what sport he's talking about!

BktBallRef Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:24pm

Re: one foot
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mplagrow
But both feet have to be down in bounds for a legal reception in the pros. NCAA only requires that you get one foot in bounds. And throw your hat on the ground when the player runs out of bounds.

I guess what I'm trying to say that "Ask a Referee" should make sure he knows what sport he's talking about!

What you suggest applies to a pass in football.

I think "saving the ball" is pretty much a basketball play. :)

mplagrow Tue Mar 09, 2004 09:01pm

You see?
 
That's more or less my point. . .the myth of not being able to be the first one to touch the ball when you come back in bounds came from football!

Stan Wed Mar 10, 2004 03:48pm

[/B][/QUOTE]

I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one. [/B][/QUOTE]

I'm thinking we shouldn't expect a reply.

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Mar 10, 2004 05:25pm

If you liked that one, you should read the previous "column":

http://216.239.37.104/search?q=cache...hl=en&ie=UTF-8

rainmaker Wed Mar 10, 2004 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
If you liked that one, you should read the previous "column":

http://216.239.37.104/search?q=cache...hl=en&ie=UTF-8

A) Someone should tell Google this isn't worth the bytes it's cached on.

B) I'm glad we've got a good rules interpreter in Oregon. Sheez, what chance do these refs have of ever moving up with this kind of interpretation?!?

Hawks Coach Wed Mar 10, 2004 06:49pm

I am now really thinking that a reply is pretty much out of the question. Joe needs to use one (or more) of his lifelines next time he files a column.

Rich Wed Mar 10, 2004 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I am now really thinking that a reply is pretty much out of the question. Joe needs to use one (or more) of his lifelines next time he files a column.
My response to him would go something like this:

"What you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened."

BktBallRef Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
If you liked that one, you should read the previous "column":

http://216.239.37.104/search?q=cache...hl=en&ie=UTF-8

Good grief! The answer to #1 is worse than the previous article.

Looks like I'm writing another email! ;)

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:47pm

Are we being too hard on this guy?
 
While I don't consider his reasoning sound (he considers there to be a pivot knee and pivot back), most of what he says is accurate (even if he thinks of it in a strange way; maybe it helps him). I only disagree with his ruling for the paragraph about a player on his knees. Afterall, he did get the ruling about a player on his back correct, and the rest of the page also seems fine to me.

BktBallRef Thu Mar 11, 2004 09:16am

Re: Are we being too hard on this guy?
 
No, we aren't. Two columns, two major mistakes. He's only perpetuating the myths.

rainmaker Thu Mar 11, 2004 10:04am

Re: Re: Are we being too hard on this guy?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
He's only perpetuating the myths.
This is what makes me so annoyed. When someone with an authoritative position like this says something this far off base, it gives the rest of us headache after headache. I'm tempted to e-mail him everytime I get into a discussion with coach or player, just so he can see how much damage he's done. But then, maybe he is listening more to the TV announcers, and not reading the rule book and would think my problems were my fault. Pivot back? Pivot butt? Sheez...

Hawks Coach Thu Mar 11, 2004 11:50am

When I came to this site, my initial questions were answered with direct reference to the rulebook. I stayed, I learned a ton. This guy never cites a specific rule and gives homespun analysis of the basketball rulebook. Any ref that has the audacity to start an "Ask the Ref" column should have the integrity and diligence to provide real rule-based references

Nevadaref Fri Mar 12, 2004 05:27pm

Ok folks, you've convinced me. Line him up in front of ten guys and five the order to fire.

Stan Thu Mar 25, 2004 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.
I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one.

Any Luck?

FHSUref Thu Mar 25, 2004 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Ok folks, you've convinced me. Line him up in front of ten guys and five the order to fire.
Ready...........Aim............

Mark Padgett Thu Mar 25, 2004 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.
I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one.

Any Luck?

Nope - I emailed him twice and no response either time. This guy's a bozo.

Back In The Saddle Fri Mar 26, 2004 12:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.
I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one.

Any Luck?

Nope - I emailed him twice and no response either time. This guy's a bozo.

Hmmmm, I wonder where he gets all black shoes in that size? :D

FHSUref Fri Mar 26, 2004 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Stan
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Someone should email him and ask him what rule prevents the player from saving the ball, establishing position inbounds, and then being the first to touch it.
I just did, and I'll post his answer, if I get one.

Any Luck?

Nope - I emailed him twice and no response either time. This guy's a bozo.

Hmmmm, I wonder where he gets all black shoes in that size? :D

LMFAO!!!!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1