The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2004, 05:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by zebracz
Quote:
Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
http://www.lebcohoops.com/referee.htm

...and this, my friends, is how those myths perpetuate themselves...
" I think he is wrong about when the clock starts, in # 4, as well."

..not sure, though.

1) The clock does not start until the ball is touched by a player on the court.

Page 45 (Rules section), Sec. 9, Art. 4 "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower."


2) The player may touch the ball FIRST after saving the ball and coming back onto the court.

Page 51 (Case book section), 7.1.1. Situation D "A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches teh ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds, (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble.
Ruling: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after PICKING up the ball is an illegal dribble violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1