The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   timeout (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12524-timeout.html)

xxssmen Tue Mar 02, 2004 04:54am

This happen in a rec. game, team A lines up for 2 free throws.
I am the lead official and I toss the ball to player A for the first of 2 shots, first one went in and now I toss him the ball for the second, now the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, before player A attempt the second free throw team B bench calls a timeout and my p granted team B the timeout, at the same time team A question the call saying that they have the possession and team B cannot request a timeout.
my p said that team B may call the time out as long as the free thrower has not relaesed the ball.
Is that true?

mxd Tue Mar 02, 2004 05:30am

Consider this situation:

Ball at disposal of free thrower. Team B commits a lane violation -- of course it's a deferred whistle. Team B calls time out. So what happens when they line up again? Are we to now disregard the previous deferred lane violation? This can give a huge advantage to team B in some cases.

Thus i say NO for team B timeouts when free thrower has ball.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 02, 2004 06:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by xxssmen

my p said that team B may call the time out as long as the free thrower has not relaesed the ball.
Is that true?


Nope, not true. The ball was alive, and at team A's disposal, and team B did not have control of it, nor was it at their disposal. Team B should not be granted a TO, as per NFHS rule 5-8-3a. However, if they do get granted the TO by mistake, they are entitled to use it(casebook play 5.8.3SitE).

Nevadaref Tue Mar 02, 2004 07:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by mxd
Consider this situation:

Ball at disposal of free thrower. Team B commits a lane violation -- of course it's a deferred whistle. Team B calls time out. So what happens when they line up again? Are we to now disregard the previous deferred lane violation? This can give a huge advantage to team B in some cases.

Thus i say NO for team B timeouts when free thrower has ball.

And if the shooting team requests a TO before the attempt is taken, the delayed violation is still enforced following the TO. See 9.1.4 Sit C. The same would be done if the official erroneously granted the non-shooting team's TO request.

rainmaker Wed Mar 03, 2004 01:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball was alive...
Yikes!! How far into a game did they get without it running away?!

just another ref Wed Mar 03, 2004 02:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball was alive...
Yikes!! How far into a game did they get without it running away?!

Juulie, do you have Prince Albert in a can?:rolleyes:

Back In The Saddle Wed Mar 03, 2004 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The ball was alive...
Yikes!! How far into a game did they get without it running away?!

That's why they kept trying to shoot it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1