The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal Guarding Position on sideline (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12500-legal-guarding-position-sideline.html)

CoachW Sun Feb 29, 2004 06:24pm

This is my first time posting after reading for a few months. I think I have learned a lot about the rules and what officials expect from coaches (and hopefully I don't come across the same way as BBallCoach).

I was reading rule 4-23, and know that you cannot have a foot OOB to get legal guarding position. In 4-23-3 it says that the guard is not required to have both feet on the playing court after LGP is obtained. Does this mean that once you have it, the defender can slide over and get one foot OOB and not have it be an automatic block call, and if not can somebody please explain why, because it seems to me that they can have a foot OOB and still take a charge once they originally have LGP.

Thank you in advance for your replies.

mick Sun Feb 29, 2004 06:52pm

Welcome, Coach.

Try this link from NFHS.

http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...on&head=BT.cfm

One-Whistle Sun Feb 29, 2004 08:05pm

WELCOME ABOARD COACH!

When I initially read 4-23-3; I questioned it the same way that it appears you are viewing it. The re-written rule did NOT make sense, especially since the rule was written to "clarify" that a player must be on the playing court to be legal.

It is my belief that the defender, once establishing LGP on the court, can leave the initial "two-feet-on-the-floor stance" and move with the offensive player; as long as the movement is inbounds. This explains why the defender no longer needs both feet on the floor.

I am sure the veterans will rectify my inaccuracies. :)

Bart Tyson Sun Feb 29, 2004 08:44pm

Def. may jump to block a shot and still have LGP

CoachW Sun Feb 29, 2004 10:03pm

Thanks for the answers.