The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2004, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Question

This weekend Kansas beat Iowa State 90-89 in overtime. In the first half, this situation occurred. Did the officials interpret the rule correctly?

Iowa State's Jared Homan went to the line for two shots. After missing the first, Kansas rebounded, went down the floor, and J.R. Giddens made a 3-pointer. At this point, the officials realized they hadn't awarded the 2nd free throw to Homan. They counted the Kansas 3-pointer, cleared the lane, and gave ISU's Homan his 2nd free throw. Then they gave ISU an OOB throw-in (I'm not sure where the throw-in occurred.)

While he has said he realizes this one situation did not decide the game, Iowa State's coach wants an "investigation." Do NCAA rules back up the officials in this instance?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1