The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member

Hey, I'm pretty new to the officiating world. I just started a few weeks ago and have refereed a few middle school games. I have a few questions.

Recently I made a call where a player jumped up for a shot but then came back down with the ball when a player blocked the shot. What is the ruling about this?

Also, if a player is shooting two free throws and does not hit rim on the first of two, does he still get to shoot the next shot? Is any type of penalty assessed?

Sorry if these are easy or stupid... please help.
Old Wed Feb 18, 2004, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member

Welcome to the board!

Quote:
Originally posted by jgully
Hey, I'm pretty new to the officiating world. I just started a few weeks ago and have refereed a few middle school games. I have a few questions.

Recently I made a call where a player jumped up for a shot but then came back down with the ball when a player blocked the shot. What is the ruling about this?

Also, if a player is shooting two free throws and does not hit rim on the first of two, does he still get to shoot the next shot? Is any type of penalty assessed?

Sorry if these are easy or stupid... please help.
Glad to have you on! Hope you stay for a while. Everyone here is a student of the game, as far as I can tell. Except Bballcoach.

1) If you feel the block prevented the release, jump ball. If you think the kid just changed his mind, travel.

2) He still gets the next shot. No penalty except the embarrassment!
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 02:06am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
Welcome to the wonderful world of officiating. To answer your questions:

1) Jump ball. Travel is only called if the ball was never touched by the other player. I almost always give the benifit of the doubt that the player was trying to shoot and was prevented.