The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 13, 2004, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jake80
1. Dushe picked up her pivot foot and she did not release the ball. Official immediately whistled a travel. Is the NCAA rule different than the NFHS?

Nope. Same ruling. If it happened as you describe, bad call.

Quote:
2. Whistle blows and official calls ???. No foul or violation was called. Official just said something to the players and one of the benches. Ball was put in play by the team A from the side. Is there any provision for this in NCAA rules?

Sure, it's called an inadvertant whistle. I doubt that this was actually inadvertant, but that's how you treat it. If the whistle was intentional to settle the players down, then that's not how I'd personally choose to handle it. But I know other officials who might use this technique.

Quote:
3. Jubilant visiting player take three dribbles after the horn and executes a tremendous dunk. Could this have been called a technical foul under NCAA rules? Would you call it?

Yes it could and no I wouldn't.

Quote:
4. I am certain the ball hit the shot clock because it changed direction. Is this a violation under NCAA rules? If so which official has the responsibility to make the call?

Yes, it should be a violation. Either the T or C can call it, but I would expect the T to have it (C may be focused on bodies during rebounding).

Quote:
5. Now for the mechanics question. When a foul was whistled the calling official would always go to the table with the information but then stay as trail at table side. I thought in 3 person the calling official went opposite to the C position. What is the proper mechanic?
The calling official does not always become Trail (that's the NBA mechanic), but you are right in that s/he stays table-side (with rare exceptions).

Men's officials started doing this for the current season; women's officials started it last season, I believe. It does generate discussion, but that's the whole reason for doing it. FED still sends the calling official opposite.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1