The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 06:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by Stat-Man
I actually did ask the R that since he was assesing 3 Ts to 1, wouldn't one on each side cancel out? He was very firm that they didn't because they were administrative. He did confer with his partners and luckily ruled that all these Ts didn't go towards the bonus.
He definitely should have given only 1 T to each side. From the NCAA rulebook:

3-3. Art. 3. Once the game begins, a team can be charged with a maximum of one indirect technical foul for the infractions listed in Articles 1 and 2 of this Section.

This certainly covers the situation you described.

Now, is this a double technnical?

4-26. Art. 11. Double technical foul. A double technical foul occurs when opponents commit technical fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

Hard to say whether this applies to indirect Ts, since no "opponent" has committed these Ts. I couldn't find an A.R. that referred to this kind of case, so I'll pass on expressing an opinion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1