The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Hawks Coach is on the money. The officials should have cleared that lane for the one free-throw attempt and then awarded the ball back to Team A along the end line of Team B's basket (the one at the end of the court where Team B just scored is known as their basket). Now instead of Team B coming up the court and making a 3, Team A would have had the ball just as they would after any other time that Team B scored.

The officials goofed because they got the possession wrong. They effectively made up a turnover against Team A.

Seems like an innocent mistake, though. They did try super hard to get the free throw corrected. Unfortunate.

The best rules references for this play are 2-10-6, 2.10.1 sit A, and 2.10.1 sit B.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1