The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Re: unusual situation

Quote:
Originally posted by icallfouls
This is a great learning opportunity and some very good points have been made.

I base my decision on NFHS Rules Book 2-11-11 Note 2. "... player who has committed 5th foul continues because the scorer has failed to notify the official ... as soon as the scorer discovers the irregularity, the game horn shall be sounded after, or as soon as, the ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The dq'd player must be removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials."

The last sentence is the key in this ruling. Since the free thrower was awarded an unmerited FT as a dq'd player, the sub for Player A shoots the double bonus, and the initial FT is not credited.
What about the second to the last sentence -- "Any points ... scored ... are counted."?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1