The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 07, 2000, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member

Exclamation

Had a situation late in one of tonight's blow-out games where my record in the book said A should have the AP arrow, and the actual arrow said B.

Now in a game with about 60 points difference, I'm not going to say anything. However, if the refs weren't cheating with a spare whistle, etc., which do you go by, the arrow or book?

BTW, I think the book was right because the timer was a guy who liked to switch the arrow a bit too early.
Old Thu Dec 07, 2000, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to BigDave
The "official" book is just that, official. It takes precedence over the arrow.
Old Thu Dec 07, 2000, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member

Mark,

In addition to officiating, I've been doing HS varsity book for about 20 years. I'm pretty confident in saying that the book is the official record. The actual arrow is not just for the convenience of the crowd and officials, but the book is where it counts -- and generally the "home" book. Kind of like the scoreboard. Hopefully, it agrees with what I have in the book (if the timer and I have been communicating properly), but if not, the scoreboard, like the arrow, is not the official record.

Moreover, the arrow is the responsibility of the official scorer, not the timer. When I'm scoring, I'm the guy with the finger on the arrow switch. I know when the throw-in ends, and I flip the direction as I make the indication in the book.