The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What is the penalty? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12037-what-penalty.html)

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:28pm

A bit off topic, but i was just reading through rule 3-4, the rule for uniforms, and i noticed that no where in this rule does it mention that pants/shorts are mandatory.

Is there any rule that states that you must wear some form of pants or shorts?? Or can a player come onto the court wearing only his/her shirt??

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:31pm

Another thing i just noticed.

On the first page of the rule book, in bold print the following is stated.

"Reproduction of all or any portion of this rules book on the Internet is expressly prohibited."

I wonder what the penalty for that is??

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:44pm

NFHS 2003-04 Casebook Play 3.5.5 SITUATION A(c): Substitute A6 is beckoned and enters the court to replace A1. A6 is wearing jewelry. RULING: The item in (c) is illegal and A6 will not be allowed to participate while wearing the item. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the illegal item is removed. (R3-S5-A6)

SITUATION A(c) is identical to NFHS 1996-97 Casebook Play 3.5.5(c).

NFHS 1996-97 Casebook Play 3.5.2: Substitute A6 reports and is beckoned onto the court to replace A5. Play begins and the first dead ball, one of the officials discover that A6: (a) is wearing a ring; or (b) is wearing an earring. RULING: In both (a) and (b) no technical foul is charged. In both cases A6 must remove the jewelry or leave the game. A player may not continue to participate after it is discovered that jewelry is being worn, but no other penalty is assessed.

I will agree that per the 1996-97 Play 3.5.2, an official has an option to allow A6 to remove the jewelry immediately or to have a substitute replace A6 immediately. But one must remember that an official does not have the authority to make a player to remove illegal equipment. I stand by my position that A6 forfeits his/her privilege to participate in the game until the offending equipment is removed. I cannot justify delaying the game to allow A6 to make himself/herself legal.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 05, 2004 04:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Ignoring Rule 3-3-3 completely now, aren't you, Mark? You know- the one that states <i>"A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court"</i>. Don't like that one because it completely contradicts your statement above that A6 has not become a player, even though A6 has been beckoned by an official and has entered the court in SitA(c)? :D

Interpreters are supposed to interpret the written rules. They aren't supposed to try to make up their own rules that just happen to fit their own personal philosophy. As I stated above, there is <b>nothing</b> in the rules that will back up what is basically just your own personal interpretation. If you can ever come up with a rule that will back up your supposition, feel free to post it.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Ignoring Rule 3-3-3 completely now, aren't you, Mark? You know- the one that states <i>"A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court"</i>. Don't like that one because it completely contradicts your statement above that A6 has not become a player, even though A6 has been beckoned by an official and has entered the court in SitA(c)? :D

Interpreters are supposed to interpret the written rules. They aren't supposed to try to make up their own rules that just happen to fit their own personal philosophy. As I stated above, there is <b>nothing</b> in the rules that will back up what is basically just your own personal interpretation. If you can ever come up with a rule that will back up your supposition, feel free to post it.


I am not ignoring R3-S3-A3. B1 commits a common foul against A2. B1's foul is Team B's seventh foul of the half. The calling official reports the foul. The Scorer tells him that Team A is not in the bonus. The callling official beckons A6 in to replace A2. A6 enters the court and A2 goes to the bench. This means that A2 cannot re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the game clock has started. Before the administering official places the ball at the disposal of Team A for the penalty throw-in for B1's foul, the Scorer signals the officials that Team A is in fact in the bonus. A6 must leave the game and A2 must re-enter the game to shoot his/her free throws. For all intents and purposes, A6 remained a substitute and A2 remained a player because of the bonus free throw situation. Why? A6 cannot replace A2 because A2 has free throws to attempt. The Casebook Play involving the substitute, A6, who is wearing jewelry is now different. A6, is not entitled to enter the game because he/she is not properly equipped and therefore cannot become a player.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 05, 2004 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
[/B]
I am not ignoring R3-S3-A3. B1 commits a common foul against A2. B1's foul is Team B's seventh foul of the half. The calling official reports the foul. The Scorer tells him that Team A is not in the bonus. The callling official beckons A6 in to replace A2. A6 enters the court and A2 goes to the bench. This means that A2 cannot re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the game clock has started. Before the administering official places the ball at the disposal of Team A for the penalty throw-in for B1's foul, the Scorer signals the officials that Team A is in fact in the bonus. A6 must leave the game and A2 must re-enter the game to shoot his/her free throws. For all intents and purposes, A6 remained a substitute and A2 remained a player because of the bonus free throw situation. Why? A6 cannot replace A2 because A2 has free throws to attempt. The Casebook Play involving the substitute, A6, who is wearing jewelry is now different. A6, is not entitled to enter the game because he/she is not properly equipped and therefore cannot become a player.
[/B][/QUOTE]Mark, the case book play above isn't germane at all to the play that we're discussing. Does the replaced player HAVE to come back into the game in 3.3.5Sit(c)? Nope!! In 3.3.5SitA(c), A6 LEGALLY entered the game as per the language of R3-3-3 AND R4-34-3, and was NEVER replaced.

I will agree with you that the case book play that you cited IS similar in one way to 3.35SitA(c). Neither one of them states that a player HAS to leave the game if found wearing jewelry. If you ever find some rules language that does state that, please let me know.

Adam Thu Feb 05, 2004 05:04pm

Okay, if the player can take off the jewelry without any delay, they can stay. If there's any delay whatsoever, they have to be replaced.

aw


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1