The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What is the penalty? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12037-what-penalty.html)

DJ Tue Feb 03, 2004 03:40pm

What is the penalty for the following after the opening tipoff?
These players are in the game.

1. Rubber band on the wrist?
2. Wrist bands that do not match a color on a jersey?
3. Head bands of teammates that are not the same color?
4. Head bands that are not the same as the primary color of a jersey?
5. Blue T shirt under a red jersey with blue trim?
6. T shirt that is white under a black jersey with yellow trim?
7. Any jewelry?

What if they are not in the game? ie. substitutes?

tharbert Tue Feb 03, 2004 04:08pm

I thought it was a technical foul for players with jewelry - NCAA.

ChuckElias Tue Feb 03, 2004 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DJ
What is the penalty for the following after the opening tipoff?
These players are in the game.

1. Rubber band on the wrist?

No penalty, but must be removed.

Quote:

2. Wrist bands that do not match a color on a jersey?
3. Head bands of teammates that are not the same color?
4. Head bands that are not the same as the primary color of a jersey?


There's nothing wrong with either of those. Headbands simply have to be of a single color. It doesn't say they have to match the shirt.

Quote:

5. Blue T shirt under a red jersey with blue trim?
6. T shirt that is white under a black jersey with yellow trim?


Player should be sent to the bench to remove the t-shirt. I believe the trim color of the shirt is irrelevant. The t-shirt must be similar in color to the primary color of the jersey.

If the player is not yet in the game, do not allow him/her to sub in until the t-shirt is removed.

Quote:

7. Any jewelry?
Gotta come off immediately. If removal involves any significant delay, the player should be sent to the bench and replaced.

In any of these cases (except the headband and wristbands), the player may not "buy" the offending items into the game with a T. It comes off or it's pine city, baby. No penalty, but no playing time, either.

Mregor Tue Feb 03, 2004 04:58pm

I agree with Chuck, but I seem to remember when this was a T. Isn't that why we started asking coaches if his/her players were properly equipped? I'm sure MTD can provide some history.

Mregor

mj Tue Feb 03, 2004 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
I agree with Chuck, but I seem to remember when this was a T. Isn't that why we started asking coaches if his/her players were properly equipped? I'm sure MTD can provide some history.

Mregor

In Wisconsin it was a Team T prior to this season. It was a Wisconsin adaptation.

Mark

Dewey1 Tue Feb 03, 2004 07:04pm

Chuck is right with the NCAA rules. I would be surprized though if this happened very often after tip-off if we as a crew are paying attention. I have never seen a player ADD jewlery after warm-ups. While watching the teams warm-up I look for jewlery, rubber bands miscoloured under-shirts etc. I often talk to them and remind them to remove the items. I have mentioned these items in coachs and captains meetings (depending on the level). I also look very closly when the team break their huddles and are coming onto the court.

I believe for the most part this is the type of thing that we can deal with before tip off. We should defenitly look at all subs before we beckon them onto the floor to play.

In the end there really is no foul penalty just a delay in having to deal with it once the game has started. Getting it before tip off really helps with game managment and the flow of the game.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:08pm

When a player is found to be wearing jewelry during the game, the player must leave the game. The player cannot renter the game until the next opportunity to substitute and of course the player must be sans the jewelry. A player cannot buy his/her way into the game with a technical foul. These requirments are for both NFHS and NCAA.

Yes, I did T up a player for wearing jewelry once. It was in an AAU girls' 18U qualifying tournament to the national tournament. AAU girls' use NCAA Women's rules. During the warmups I noticed a A1 wearing ear rings. I reminded her that she could not wear jewelry and play in the game. She told me that she would remove them. In the seconc half, Team A had requested and been granted a timeout. I was T, table side, and was going to administer Team A' throw-in after the timeout in front of its bench. A1 was the player that was going to make the throw-in. Just before I was going to give her the ball. A1 pulled her hair back from her ears, to reveal band aids over her ears. I asked her if she was covering her ear rings with the band aids. She said yes. I charged her with at unsportsmanlike technical foul and told the coach to substitute for A1, and that A1 could not return to the game until the next opportunity to substitute sans the ear rings.

A1's grandmother was very upset with me. She told me that her granddaughter had just had her ears piecered in a religious ceremony and she could not take them out. I had to bite my tounge to keep from busting a gut.

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DJ
What is the penalty for the following after the opening tipoff?
These players are in the game.

1. Rubber band on the wrist?

Flogging
2. Wrist bands that do not match a color on a jersey?
Life in prison without parole
3. Head bands of teammates that are not the same color?
Five minutes locked in a closet with "The Nanny"
4. Head bands that are not the same as the primary color of a jersey?
Must yell "Ball ball ball ball ball" for 10 minutes
5. Blue T shirt under a red jersey with blue trim?
Loss of potential college scholarship
6. T shirt that is white under a black jersey with yellow trim?
Must dress as cheerleaders for the rest of the game
7. Any jewelry?
Road trip with Michael Jackson

What if they are not in the game? ie. substitutes?
Players are seatbelted on top of coaches

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 03, 2004 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by DJ
What is the penalty for the following after the opening tipoff?
These players are in the game.

1. Rubber band on the wrist?

Flogging
2. Wrist bands that do not match a color on a jersey?
Life in prison without parole
3. Head bands of teammates that are not the same color?
Five minutes locked in a closet with "The Nanny"
4. Head bands that are not the same as the primary color of a jersey?
Must yell "Ball ball ball ball ball" for 10 minutes
5. Blue T shirt under a red jersey with blue trim?
Loss of potential college scholarship
6. T shirt that is white under a black jersey with yellow trim?
Must dress as cheerleaders for the rest of the game
7. Any jewelry?
Road trip with Michael Jackson

What if they are not in the game? ie. substitutes?
Players are seatbelted on top of coaches


Mark:

Your post made my day. I think that you should send these recommendations to the NFHS and NCAA rules committees for their considereation.

MTD, Sr.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 04, 2004 02:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
When a player is found to be wearing jewelry during the game, the player must leave the game.


Here we go again. For the umpteenth time!

Mark, please quote a rule, casebook play, or anything that will back this statement up. It is simply not true, but is just your interpretation only. The official can have a player in the game simply remove the jewelry, without leaving the game, if it doesn't take up too much time. See NFHS casebook play 3.5.5SitA. That play refers to a player wearing jewelry who has already been beckoned and has entered the court. It says- <i>"No penalty is involved. A6 cannot simply participate until the illegal items are removed"</i>. Note that it specifically does <b>not</b> say that the player <b>must</b> leave the game and be substituted for.

rainmaker Wed Feb 04, 2004 04:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dewey1
I have never seen a player ADD jewlery after warm-ups.
Dewey, maybe you don't work too many girls games. I do, and I see things added back, A LOT. Clippies at the back of the head, under the ponytail are the most common. I also regularly see hairbands magically appear on wrists. I've also seen the occasional earring re-appear after half-time. The part I don't understand is why the coaches don't just make them leave it all in the locker room.

RookieDude Wed Feb 04, 2004 06:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Dewey1
I have never seen a player ADD jewlery after warm-ups.
Dewey, maybe you don't work too many girls games. I do, and I see things added back, A LOT. Clippies at the back of the head, under the ponytail are the most common. I also regularly see hairbands magically appear on wrists. I've also seen the occasional earring re-appear after half-time. The part I don't understand is why the coaches don't just make them leave it all in the locker room.

Boys Varsity game last week. Player A1 was about to shoot a FT. Umpire was administering FT. He stopped, just before he bounced the ball to A1 and walked toward him. I was wondering what he was doing. The umpire took the rubberband from the player, which had been on his wrist, and continued with FT administration.

At halftime I told the umpire we should have caught that in warm-ups...he stated that it wasn't there in warm-ups. So there you go...even guys can add "stuff" occassionaly.
And I agree with JR...don't remove player from game...just get the junk off and continue playing.


Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 04, 2004 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
When a player is found to be wearing jewelry during the game, the player must leave the game.


Here we go again. For the umpteenth time!

Mark, please quote a rule, casebook play, or anything that will back this statement up. It is simply not true, but is just your interpretation only. The official can have a player in the game simply remove the jewelry, without leaving the game, if it doesn't take up too much time. See NFHS casebook play 3.5.5SitA. That play refers to a player wearing jewelry who has already been beckoned and has entered the court. It says- <i>"No penalty is involved. A6 cannot simply participate until the illegal items are removed"</i>. Note that it specifically does <b>not</b> say that the player <b>must</b> leave the game and be substituted for.


JR:

Read the Casebook Play again. It refers to a substitute who wants to enter the game. NFHS R3-S5-A6 specifically prohibits the wearing of jewelry. An official cannot make a player remove prohibited equipment. When a player is found to be wearing jewelry while in the game, the player must leave the game until the prohibited equipment is removed. A player who is wearing jewelry while playing has forfeited his/her privilege to play in the game until the player becomes legal.

The real problem is that many coaches get upset when officials make a player leave the game for wearing jewelry until the player is legal and there are too many officials do not want to do the correct thing and have the player sit until he/she is legal because they do not want to deal with an irrational coach.

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:18pm

I'm still trying to understand why everyone gets their ears pierced during the basketball season.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
When a player is found to be wearing jewelry during the game, the player must leave the game.


Here we go again. For the umpteenth time!

Mark, please quote a rule, casebook play, or anything that will back this statement up. It is simply not true, but is just your interpretation only. The official can have a player in the game simply remove the jewelry, without leaving the game, if it doesn't take up too much time. See NFHS casebook play 3.5.5SitA. That play refers to a player wearing jewelry who has already been beckoned and has entered the court. It says- <i>"No penalty is involved. A6 cannot simply participate until the illegal items are removed"</i>. Note that it specifically does <b>not</b> say that the player <b>must</b> leave the game and be substituted for.


JR:

Read the Casebook Play again. It refers to a substitute who wants to enter the game. NFHS R3-S5-A6 specifically prohibits the wearing of jewelry. An official cannot make a player remove prohibited equipment. When a player is found to be wearing jewelry while in the game, the player must leave the game until the prohibited equipment is removed. A player who is wearing jewelry while playing has forfeited his/her privilege to play in the game until the player becomes legal.

The real problem is that many coaches get upset when officials make a player leave the game for wearing jewelry until the player is legal and there are too many officials do not want to do the correct thing and have the player sit until he/she is legal because they do not want to deal with an irrational coach.

Uh, no, Mark, I think that you need to re-read that casebook play again. Casebook play 3.5.5SitA specifically refers to a player who has been beckoned and already entered the court.As per rule 3-3-3, a substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. That means that the player in casebook play 3.3.5SitA is <b>not</b> a substitute, but a player. The ruling for that casebook play is that the player cannot participate further until the jewelry is removed. There is no mention that the player must leave the game to remove the jewelry- it just simply says that the jewelry must be removed.Also, the rule that you quoted- R3-5-6 - does <b>not</b> say that a player must leave the game either. Nowhere in the rulebook or the casebook is it written that a player <b>must</b> leave the game, as far as I know. If you can come up with any rules citations that will back up your hypothesis, please feel free to post them. If not,.....

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 4th, 2004 at 09:28 PM]

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:28pm

A bit off topic, but i was just reading through rule 3-4, the rule for uniforms, and i noticed that no where in this rule does it mention that pants/shorts are mandatory.

Is there any rule that states that you must wear some form of pants or shorts?? Or can a player come onto the court wearing only his/her shirt??

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:31pm

Another thing i just noticed.

On the first page of the rule book, in bold print the following is stated.

"Reproduction of all or any portion of this rules book on the Internet is expressly prohibited."

I wonder what the penalty for that is??

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 04, 2004 11:44pm

NFHS 2003-04 Casebook Play 3.5.5 SITUATION A(c): Substitute A6 is beckoned and enters the court to replace A1. A6 is wearing jewelry. RULING: The item in (c) is illegal and A6 will not be allowed to participate while wearing the item. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the illegal item is removed. (R3-S5-A6)

SITUATION A(c) is identical to NFHS 1996-97 Casebook Play 3.5.5(c).

NFHS 1996-97 Casebook Play 3.5.2: Substitute A6 reports and is beckoned onto the court to replace A5. Play begins and the first dead ball, one of the officials discover that A6: (a) is wearing a ring; or (b) is wearing an earring. RULING: In both (a) and (b) no technical foul is charged. In both cases A6 must remove the jewelry or leave the game. A player may not continue to participate after it is discovered that jewelry is being worn, but no other penalty is assessed.

I will agree that per the 1996-97 Play 3.5.2, an official has an option to allow A6 to remove the jewelry immediately or to have a substitute replace A6 immediately. But one must remember that an official does not have the authority to make a player to remove illegal equipment. I stand by my position that A6 forfeits his/her privilege to participate in the game until the offending equipment is removed. I cannot justify delaying the game to allow A6 to make himself/herself legal.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 05, 2004 04:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Ignoring Rule 3-3-3 completely now, aren't you, Mark? You know- the one that states <i>"A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court"</i>. Don't like that one because it completely contradicts your statement above that A6 has not become a player, even though A6 has been beckoned by an official and has entered the court in SitA(c)? :D

Interpreters are supposed to interpret the written rules. They aren't supposed to try to make up their own rules that just happen to fit their own personal philosophy. As I stated above, there is <b>nothing</b> in the rules that will back up what is basically just your own personal interpretation. If you can ever come up with a rule that will back up your supposition, feel free to post it.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.

With regard to SITUATION A(c): Because A6 was wearing illegal equipment he/she really had not become a player and therfore can be denied entry into the game until the next opportunity to subsitute assuming that A6 has removed the offending equipment.

Ignoring Rule 3-3-3 completely now, aren't you, Mark? You know- the one that states <i>"A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court"</i>. Don't like that one because it completely contradicts your statement above that A6 has not become a player, even though A6 has been beckoned by an official and has entered the court in SitA(c)? :D

Interpreters are supposed to interpret the written rules. They aren't supposed to try to make up their own rules that just happen to fit their own personal philosophy. As I stated above, there is <b>nothing</b> in the rules that will back up what is basically just your own personal interpretation. If you can ever come up with a rule that will back up your supposition, feel free to post it.


I am not ignoring R3-S3-A3. B1 commits a common foul against A2. B1's foul is Team B's seventh foul of the half. The calling official reports the foul. The Scorer tells him that Team A is not in the bonus. The callling official beckons A6 in to replace A2. A6 enters the court and A2 goes to the bench. This means that A2 cannot re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the game clock has started. Before the administering official places the ball at the disposal of Team A for the penalty throw-in for B1's foul, the Scorer signals the officials that Team A is in fact in the bonus. A6 must leave the game and A2 must re-enter the game to shoot his/her free throws. For all intents and purposes, A6 remained a substitute and A2 remained a player because of the bonus free throw situation. Why? A6 cannot replace A2 because A2 has free throws to attempt. The Casebook Play involving the substitute, A6, who is wearing jewelry is now different. A6, is not entitled to enter the game because he/she is not properly equipped and therefore cannot become a player.

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 05, 2004 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
[/B]
I am not ignoring R3-S3-A3. B1 commits a common foul against A2. B1's foul is Team B's seventh foul of the half. The calling official reports the foul. The Scorer tells him that Team A is not in the bonus. The callling official beckons A6 in to replace A2. A6 enters the court and A2 goes to the bench. This means that A2 cannot re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the game clock has started. Before the administering official places the ball at the disposal of Team A for the penalty throw-in for B1's foul, the Scorer signals the officials that Team A is in fact in the bonus. A6 must leave the game and A2 must re-enter the game to shoot his/her free throws. For all intents and purposes, A6 remained a substitute and A2 remained a player because of the bonus free throw situation. Why? A6 cannot replace A2 because A2 has free throws to attempt. The Casebook Play involving the substitute, A6, who is wearing jewelry is now different. A6, is not entitled to enter the game because he/she is not properly equipped and therefore cannot become a player.
[/B][/QUOTE]Mark, the case book play above isn't germane at all to the play that we're discussing. Does the replaced player HAVE to come back into the game in 3.3.5Sit(c)? Nope!! In 3.3.5SitA(c), A6 LEGALLY entered the game as per the language of R3-3-3 AND R4-34-3, and was NEVER replaced.

I will agree with you that the case book play that you cited IS similar in one way to 3.35SitA(c). Neither one of them states that a player HAS to leave the game if found wearing jewelry. If you ever find some rules language that does state that, please let me know.

Adam Thu Feb 05, 2004 05:04pm

Okay, if the player can take off the jewelry without any delay, they can stay. If there's any delay whatsoever, they have to be replaced.

aw


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1