The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clarification a blocked "Try" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11978-clarification-blocked-try.html)

Ref Daddy Fri Jan 30, 2004 04:10pm


NFHS rules please

Player goes up for a shot (try). Attempt blocked BACK to the shooting player. Assuming no fouls:

1) If the ball never leaves shooters hand(s) - Jump Ball

2) Leaves hands towards goal and returned directly to player while still in the air, player returns to ground in control - Traveling.

3) Player shoots, ball blocked and after shoooter returns to ground catch's block - Play on.

Correct?





PAULK1 Fri Jan 30, 2004 04:22pm

1. Jump ball if you feel the block prevented the release

2.,3 If the shot is released and then blocked it doesn't matter if the shooter caught the ball before or after they landed. Play on

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 30, 2004 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Daddy

NFHS rules please

Player goes up for a shot (try). Attempt blocked BACK to the shooting player. Assuming no fouls:

1) If the ball never leaves shooters hand(s) - Jump Ball

2) Leaves hands towards goal and returned directly to player while still in the air, player returns to ground in control - Traveling.

3) Player shoots, ball blocked and after shoooter returns to ground catch's block - Play on.

Correct?


#2 is wrong. The shooter can catch the ball and legally come down with it, and then go up and shoot again, pass, dribble,etc..

BigJoe Fri Jan 30, 2004 07:54pm

The player may not start a dribble while still airborn after catching the blocked shot. This would be traveling.
Casebook 4-43.3

RecRef Fri Jan 30, 2004 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
The player may not start a dribble while still airborn after catching the blocked shot. This would be traveling.
Casebook 4-43.3

???? Where do get this from? In my book 4-43.3 says no such thing. Am I missing something here?

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 30, 2004 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
The player may not start a dribble while still airborn after catching the blocked shot. This would be traveling.
Casebook 4-43.3

Wrong. If the ball never leaves the shooter's hands and the ball is blocked, you have a jump ball- casebook play 4.25.2. If the ball leaves the shooter's hands, and the defender then blocks the ball back into the shooter's hands, the shooter can now legally do anything with the ball, including coming back down with it and starting a dribble. It is <b>not</b> travelling. Player and team control ended when the shot left the shooter's hands- rule 4-12-6.

Btw, what case play are you referring to? 4.43.3 A,B or C? If it's A, which one of the 4 situations are referencing? I can't see any in there that are applicable to this play.

One-Whistle Sat Jan 31, 2004 09:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
... Player and team control ended when the shot left the shooter's hands- rule 4-12-6. ...

This says it all in reference to #2. The try means player and team control have ended.

The official's "no" call shouldn't be any different than if an airborne player attempted a pass and the defender blocked it back to the player prior to his return to the floor.

BigJoe Sat Jan 31, 2004 09:15am

It is clear in the casebook saying that you can't put the ball on the floor and be the first to touch the ball as that would constitute starting a dribble with both (pivot) feet off the floor.
Case book top of page 33
I'm assuming that the ball was blocked and didn't leave the shooters hands. It also wasn't called a held ball.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 31, 2004 09:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJoe
The player may not start a dribble while still airborn after catching the blocked shot. This would be traveling.
Casebook 4-43.3

Big Joe, there's your statement again. If a player <b>catches</b> a blocked shot, the ball must have left the shooter's hands and then been blocked back into them.If the player comes down with the ball now, it isn't travelling. If the ball didn't leave the shooter's hands, you have a held ball if the shooter comes down with it. You said it was travelling instead. In both scenarios, you were wrong.

Btw, none of the caseplays in 4.43.3 apply to this play. If you're referring to 4.433c or d, those aren't applicable because the ball was just touched, <b>not</b> blocked, in them.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1