The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
Jr High playoffs last night. New partner. During first half, A had the ball in front court. It gets slapped away and there is a scrable for the ball. Meantime, my partner calls a 3 second count in the lane.

The A coach is claiming they lost control of the ball. No big deal. At half time, there was a friendly exchange between the coach and my partner and he agreed that he shouldn't have made the call.

I interupted and said that actually, it was the right call. I explained that once a team has control in the front court, they keep control unless, 1) there is a shot or tap attempt, 2) the other team gets control of the ball, or 3) the ball becomes dead. He went on and on about he played D1 (30 yrs ago) and he knew the rules. So, I pulled out the rule book and showed it to him. He still didn't believe that the 3 second rule applied. So, we just agreed to disagree. Again it was a friendly exchange as they were way up on the score board.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1