The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 07:17am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
The point that I am trying to make is that while the rules talk about the dribbler (A1) getting his/her head and shoulders past the defender (B1) still does not mean that any and all contact should be charged against B1. If B1 moves into A1 after A1 gets his/her head and shoulders past B1 then B1 should be charged with a blocking foul; if B1 moves straight back or away from A1 and contact still occurs, then it is possible that A1 could be charged with the contact or no foul should be charged to either A1 or B1.

If B1 does what I have described in my post of Jan. 28, 2004, 07:55pm, it would be very difficult to charge B1 with a foul. One of the fundamentals of basketball is that if B1 has obtained/estalished a legal guarding position, is not moving, and is maintaing his/her verticality, then B1 cannot be guilty of a foul if there is contact between B1 and a moving A1.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1