The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Many thanks and a couple questions. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11884-many-thanks-couple-questions.html)

OfficialFan Sat Jan 24, 2004 09:15pm

Thank you to all men and women who have the courage to become an Official at any level. I really admire everyone who is willing to put up with fans and coaches yelling, so that thousands of kids have the chance to play basketball.

My two questions are these: When a player is inbounding the ball under the basket...when is he/she allowed to run the baseline, and is this illegal on the sideline?

also, i was at a division II men's basketball game today, and i saw a former teacher of mine who was once a terrific basketball official, and i asked if "carrying" the ball was an actual call. He said that the call no longer exists, but rather that its traveling, because the player who "carries" the ball is actually stopping the dribble but still continues to run. During the second half of the men's game one of the three officials blows his whislte and calls carrying the ball on the guard while making a motion like an over and back call.
so, is carrying still an actual call, or is it traveling?

thanks

Mike Burns Sat Jan 24, 2004 09:31pm

Welcome to the forum.

Quote:

Originally posted by OfficialFan
When a player is inbounding the ball under the basket...when is he/she allowed to run the baseline, and is this illegal on the sideline?
After a made basket.

(Im sure others will add to this)

Quote:

Originally posted by OfficialFan
During the second half of the men's game one of the three officials blows his whislte and calls carrying the ball on the guard while making a motion like an over and back call.
so, is carrying still an actual call, or is it traveling?


The official got it right. That is the correct mechanic for palming or "carrying".

BktBallRef Sat Jan 24, 2004 09:38pm

1- Only in the end line after a made basket. If the defense fouls or violates and the ball stays on the end line, then they can still run.

2- Your friend is incorrect. Carrying/palming is still a violation.

mcdanrd Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:12am

There was a brief time several years ago where they did away with the carry/palming the ball mechanic and had travel only. The officials continued to make the call so it was re-instated.

davidw Sun Jan 25, 2004 01:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by OfficialFan
Thank you to all men and women who have the courage to become an Official at any level. I really admire everyone who is willing to put up with fans and coaches yelling, so that thousands of kids have the chance to play basketball.


Official Fan,

Thanks for the kind words. We get so much of the 'other stuff' most of the time, I'm not sure we would know how to react if every fan was a perfect gentleman or lady at every game. I'm sure it would be a 'Twilight Zone' experiance.

Maybe you could share your understanding with others, who then might share it with others, who would share... Wheww! Ok! I'm awake now. Just a momentary slip into dreamland there. Probably not going to happen, but then who knows?


Welcome aboard.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 25, 2004 02:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Burns

Quote:

Originally posted by OfficialFan
When a player is inbounding the ball under the basket...when is he/she allowed to run the baseline, and is this illegal on the sideline?
After a made basket.

(Im sure others will add to this)

[/B]
"Or awarded basket- goaltending or basket interference."--Other

Mike Burns Sun Jan 25, 2004 06:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Burns

Quote:

Originally posted by OfficialFan
When a player is inbounding the ball under the basket...when is he/she allowed to run the baseline, and is this illegal on the sideline?
After a made basket.

(Im sure others will add to this)

"Or awarded basket- goaltending or basket interference."--Other [/B]
:) Thats what I was looking for. Thanks Other.

Mark Dexter Sun Jan 25, 2004 01:49pm

To expand on the "palming/carrying" call.

It is a violation, however the violation is for a form of double dribble, not for a form of traveling. When the ball comes to rest, the dribble has ended, and to dribble again is a violation.

The signal is the palming/carrying one just to clarify (otherwise we'd have people screaming about the dribble not ending).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1