The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 16, 2004, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:
Originally posted by SHellmueller
Rulebook is in my bag, and I'm at work, but I end the 5 second count when the player begin to advance toward the basket.

Did I miss something?
It seems to be a common misconception that if A1 is "moving toward the basket" that the 5 second count should stop. But if B1 is still in a legal guarding position between A1 and the basket and A1 drives to the hoop and you stop your count, but then A1 pulls back out because the lane has closed, still dribbling, you just penalized B1 for some good defense.
This misconception comes from what, I believe, used to be the rule about 20 years ago where this was true.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1