The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 277
Question

I'm sure this will be quickly answered. If a timeout is called by the throwing team following a basket, can there be a loss of the "running the baseline" privilege?

I say no, but I had someone tell me that if a team was trying to inbound against a press D following a basket, and called the timeout only to avoid a 5 second violation, that the good D should be rewarded following that timeout by having to defend only a spot throw in.

I don't think there is any judgment to be made here by an official as to why the time out was called. It is never a spot throw in this case.

BTW, I'm glad I found this site. I'm a beginner so I find a lot to absorb here.

Thanks,
Hartsy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 13, 2004, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Thumbs up

You're right on this one, Hartsy. A TO does not cause the inbounding team to lose the right to run the endline.

Hey, you're 1-for-1! Maybe you should retire with a perfect record

Hopefully, you won't and you'll keep posting here. Welcome to the forum.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1