The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 30, 2000, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 18
Question

During a NCAA game the following happened: A foul was called on a player which turned out to be their 5th, the scorer never told the reporting official and the reporting official went to administer the free throw. In the mean time the scorer notified the new trail official of the disqualification at the same time the head Coach was asking the official a question. The first free throw was shot and made without knowledge of the disqualification. In other words, the first free throw attempted with only four players on the court. The officiating crew disallowed the first free throw and made the free throw shooter shoot two more. Was this a correctable error? Did the officials handle the situation correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 30, 2000, 05:08pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
No it is not correctable, and no they did not handle it properly...the player was not disqualified until the official notified the coach of the disqualification...they should not have made the shooter shoot again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1