The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 12, 2004, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
Question

How many times do we have to cover this on this board before I get it through my thick skull.....

Here it goes: Does the ball have to be ON THE RING, or simply IN THE CYLINDER, for the "hand in the net" to be a BI?

In the case I had during a NCAA game on Friday, team A accidentally got hand caught in net, rattled the ring, but ball was well above the ring, and not on it. The ball bounced off the rim and team A then got the rebound, kicked it out to the 3 pt line and drained the 3. Opposing coach questioned the call, and I froze..... I admitted that team A indeed hit the net, but that the ball was off the ring. NCAA rule book was not clear on cylinder vs. ring in my review later that evening. Hope I was right in my explanation because Coach B will not forget if I am wrong......
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1