The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BI - hand in net (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11654-bi-hand-net.html)

Buckley11 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:45pm

How many times do we have to cover this on this board before I get it through my thick skull.....

Here it goes: Does the ball have to be ON THE RING, or simply IN THE CYLINDER, for the "hand in the net" to be a BI?

In the case I had during a NCAA game on Friday, team A accidentally got hand caught in net, rattled the ring, but ball was well above the ring, and not on it. The ball bounced off the rim and team A then got the rebound, kicked it out to the 3 pt line and drained the 3. Opposing coach questioned the call, and I froze..... I admitted that team A indeed hit the net, but that the ball was off the ring. NCAA rule book was not clear on cylinder vs. ring in my review later that evening. Hope I was right in my explanation because Coach B will not forget if I am wrong......

BktBallRef Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:01pm

If the ball is on or within the ring, then it would be BI.

If the ball is touched while in the IMAGINARY cylinder above the ring, it's BI.

Buckley11 Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:04pm

30 plus hits and no replies......someone please give me some reassurance....

Thanks!

gsf23 Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:05pm

Personally I have never seen a hand in the net called for basket interference. I have seen it happen many times, but never seen it called.

Buckley11 Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:12pm

Thanks BBR. So your interp is it is BI in both scenarios. My review of Rule 9 and Rule 4 didn't clarify....at least in my mind.

Buckley11 Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:22pm

gsf23, I too had never seen it called but this particular incident resulted in significant vibration of the ring.....enough to get Coach B begging. I passed on the call and did not call BI, but had trouble explaining as I was a bit unsure. I suppose the fact that I have never called it, or seen it called, resulted in me not being able to give a firm, sure, explanation.

Adam Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:22pm

No, he said if the ball is touched while it's in the cylinder, it's BI. Not if the net is touched while the ball is in the cylinder.

Buckley11 Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:28pm

Ahh..thanks Snagwells.....perhaps my not taking my time in reading is the reason my rules explanations suffer.

So if ball is in cylinder only, and not on ring, than we have "nothing" and I was right

Phew.....

BktBallRef Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:33pm

If the ball is touching the ring or is inside the ring, it's BI is the ball, net, or ring are touched.

The cylinder is an imaginary cylinder above the ring. If the ball is touched while it's in the cylinder, it's BI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1