The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   personal foul on player, then given a techniacl (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11623-personal-foul-player-then-given-techniacl.html)

gwockenfuss Sun Jan 11, 2004 03:01pm

I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back, (made it the double bonus shot) he grabed the ball, and slammed it on the ground at me. I called the foul and then assessed him with an unsportsmen like T (which is also a personal foul). I went to the bench called the foul, then called the T on the same player.

I assessed it in the order that it happened, we assessed the personal foul shot, (no one on the line,) then the T. We messed up, as the fouled team did not get the ball, (that was our mistake). Also, can the coach call a correctable error on this?


Give me your opinion on this. Was this correct.

cmathews Sun Jan 11, 2004 03:08pm

it isn't correctable after the ball is inbounded. The rest of it was fine though...assuming the right team shot all the foul shots ;)

RookieDude Sun Jan 11, 2004 03:32pm

Quote:

originally posted by cmathews
it isn't correctable after the ball is inbounded
Hmmmmm, don't you mean "isn't correctable unless recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Rule 2-10

RD

P.S. Fussy, are you saying you didn't give the ball to the team that shot the FT's at the division line opposite the table? If so...why wasn't the Coach screaming AS you were giving the wrong team the ball?
What level of ball was this?

[Edited by RookieDude on Jan 11th, 2004 at 02:42 PM]

bob jenkins Sun Jan 11, 2004 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:

originally posted by cmathews
it isn't correctable after the ball is inbounded
Hmmmmm, don't you mean "isn't correctable unless recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Rule 2-10


Which part of 2-10 says that giving the ball to the wrong team for a throw in is a correctable error?


bob jenkins Sun Jan 11, 2004 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back, (made it the double bonus shot) he grabed the ball, and slammed it on the ground at me. I called the foul and then assessed him with an unsportsmen like T (which is also a personal foul).
No, it's not also a personal foul. IT does count as one of the five fouls toward disqualification and as a team foul toward the bonus, though (FED rules).


RookieDude Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:

originally posted by cmathews
it isn't correctable after the ball is inbounded
Hmmmmm, don't you mean "isn't correctable unless recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Rule 2-10


Which part of 2-10 says that giving the ball to the wrong team for a throw in is a correctable error?


I wasn't saying the situation was correctable...just thought cmathews was quoting the correctable error language in a way that might confuse fussy...please accept my most sincere apologys if in fact I was confusing in my attempt to be non-confusing. ;)

RD

RookieDude Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back, (made it the double bonus shot) he grabed the ball, and slammed it on the ground at me. I called the foul and then assessed him with an unsportsmen like T (which is also a personal foul).
No, it's not also a personal foul. IT does count as one of the five fouls toward disqualification and as a team foul toward the bonus, though (FED rules).


...and if I might add, ohh great one, the T counts as one of only two T's (unless flagrant) allowed before disqualification.

RD

williebfree Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:38pm

I am being anal retentive here, but...
 
Welcome aboard gwockenfuss! :)

Now for the short-lived "honeymoon" :D

Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
... as I called the foul on a player for over the back...
I am suprised this statement lasted this long.... "Over-the-back" is a phrase that is taboo in this forum to many... I am sure you meant "...the foul on the player for a Push (from behind), ..." ;)

Can I speculate that you also indicated this call with a gesture that looked something like an ape reaching for a branch above your head? :D

The common challenge that is usually asked at this point is where in the rulebook does it state you have an "over-the-back" foul?

Subtle difference, yes; however, it is what separates those who are striving to maintain professionalism (and strive for higher levels) and those destined to remain stagnant at lower levels.

This is NOT a bash against competent officials who willingly stay at the lower levels for whatever personal reason(s). We need more veterans to assist beginners and keep "Bobby Knight-type" coaches in check at this level. I work the majority of my games at lower levels primarily because I do not want the travels required with a full varsity schedule (at least not until my children are gone, out of the house).


BktBallRef Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back,...
What's over the back? :D

TXMATTHEW05 Sun Jan 11, 2004 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back,...
What's over the back? :D


It's around the same definition as "reaching in."

:D

rainmaker Mon Jan 12, 2004 12:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by TXMATTHEW05
Your lucky number is 32345543423225. Watch for it everywhere!
Love it!

rcwilco Mon Jan 12, 2004 02:05am

It is amazing how many times one can see that number each day! :D

gwockenfuss Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:

originally posted by cmathews
it isn't correctable after the ball is inbounded
Hmmmmm, don't you mean "isn't correctable unless recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." Rule 2-10

RD

P.S. Fussy, are you saying you didn't give the ball to the team that shot the FT's at the division line opposite the table? If so...why wasn't the Coach screaming AS you were giving the wrong team the ball?
What level of ball was this?

[Edited by RookieDude on Jan 11th, 2004 at 02:42 PM]

RookieDude
Varsity Boys Class C1 game.
Your right, we did not give the ball to that team, all the foul shots were shot by the correct team
My partner and I talked about it, and he even said it happen so fast that after the 2nd shot of the T, the other team took the ball out, since there was 3 seconds left on the clock. No , the Coach (team that shot the shots) did not say a word, told me good call. Although, as we entered the locker room where they were, he did come up to me and say, we were to get the ball also right? I said yes, we messed up. He said, that happens.
All went well after that, no one was upset.

gwockenfuss Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:18am

Re: I am being anal retentive here, but...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by williebfree
Welcome aboard gwockenfuss! :)

Now for the short-lived "honeymoon" :D

Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
... as I called the foul on a player for over the back...
I am suprised this statement lasted this long.... "Over-the-back" is a phrase that is taboo in this forum to many... I am sure you meant "...the foul on the player for a Push (from behind), ..." ;)

Can I speculate that you also indicated this call with a gesture that looked something like an ape reaching for a branch above your head? :D

The common challenge that is usually asked at this point is where in the rulebook does it state you have an "over-the-back" foul?

Subtle difference, yes; however, it is what separates those who are striving to maintain professionalism (and strive for higher levels) and those destined to remain stagnant at lower levels.

This is NOT a bash against competent officials who willingly stay at the lower levels for whatever personal reason(s). We need more veterans to assist beginners and keep "Bobby Knight-type" coaches in check at this level. I work the majority of my games at lower levels primarily because I do not want the travels required with a full varsity schedule (at least not until my children are gone, out of the house).

Willibfree
Your right, there is not a call that says "over-the-back" even though that is what happen, I will us the "Push from behind signal from now on. Thanks for the infor., As far as lower levels, I am assuming you mean, High School Ball. I would like to find out more about the higher level game, give me some infor.
gw




gwockenfuss Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:20am

Personal Foul
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back, (made it the double bonus shot) he grabed the ball, and slammed it on the ground at me. I called the foul and then assessed him with an unsportsmen like T (which is also a personal foul).
No, it's not also a personal foul. IT does count as one of the five fouls toward disqualification and as a team foul toward the bonus, though (FED rules).


thanks for that information.
gw

bob jenkins Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss

My partner and I talked about it, and he even said it happen so fast that after the 2nd shot of the T, the other team took the ball out, since there was 3 seconds left on the clock.

How could it "happen so fast?" There shouldn't have been an opponent within about 21 feet of the ball when the second shot for the T went through the basket.


gwockenfuss Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss

My partner and I talked about it, and he even said it happen so fast that after the 2nd shot of the T, the other team took the ball out, since there was 3 seconds left on the clock.

How could it "happen so fast?" There shouldn't have been an opponent within about 21 feet of the ball when the second shot for the T went through the basket.


Bottom Line, we messed up.

gwockenfuss Mon Jan 12, 2004 04:32pm

reaching in?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by TXMATTHEW05
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back,...
What's over the back? :D


It's around the same definition as "reaching in."

:D

I was told by a veteran offical that there is no
1. Over the back call- should be Push from behind- True

2. How about the reach in call? I didn't think it was that , but a (hand check, or illegal use of the hands)

let me know

Adam Mon Jan 12, 2004 04:58pm

There is no "illegal use of the hands" either. Chances are, when someone wants a reach, it's because they think there's a "hack" on the dribble. No contact, no foul. That's why we cringe when we hear someone cry for a call for a "reach." There's nothing wrong with reaching anywhere, if you don't make contact.
The call is generally a "hack," but sometimes a "hold." But never a "reach."
In Iowa, we used to have 6 on 6 girls basketball, in which players were not allowed to cross half court. One quirky rule was that each player was only allowed to dribble the ball twice. Two bounces, and that was it. Another rule was that the defense could not touch the ball if it was in the offensive player's hands (unless she was in the lane, then it was fair game.) I believe the call for this was "illegal use of the hands," but I'm not sure.

JugglingReferee Mon Jan 12, 2004 05:57pm

To: JR
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
In Iowa, we used to have 6 on 6 girls basketball, in which players were not allowed to cross half court. One quirky rule was that each player was only allowed to dribble the ball twice. Two bounces, and that was it. Another rule was that the defense could not touch the ball if it was in the offensive player's hands (unless she was in the lane, then it was fair game.) I believe the call for this was "illegal use of the hands," but I'm not sure.
JR: these are the girl's rules from the 50's, n'est pas?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 12, 2004 07:07pm

Re: To: JR
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
In Iowa, we used to have 6 on 6 girls basketball, in which players were not allowed to cross half court. One quirky rule was that each player was only allowed to dribble the ball twice. Two bounces, and that was it. Another rule was that the defense could not touch the ball if it was in the offensive player's hands (unless she was in the lane, then it was fair game.) I believe the call for this was "illegal use of the hands," but I'm not sure.
JR: these are the girl's rules from the 50's, n'est pas?

Si, Signor.


WinterWillie Mon Jan 12, 2004 07:39pm

Contact lenses
 
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
Quote:

Originally posted by TXMATTHEW05
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by gwockenfuss
I was refereeing on Saturday, and as I called the foul on a player for over the back,...
What's over the back? :D


It's around the same definition as "reaching in."

:D

I was told by a veteran offical that there is no
1. Over the back call- should be Push from behind- True

2. How about the reach in call? I didn't think it was that , but a (hand check, or illegal use of the hands)

let me know

In the future, after you have given a technical foul and reported in to the table, you should meet with your partner(s) in the center circle and go over how you will administer the fouls and what you will do after the shots. Take your time and let the dust settle. Make sure when you leave the center circle, you are headed to the correct basket
for the free throws.


rainmaker Mon Jan 12, 2004 08:53pm

Re: Re: To: JR
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
In Iowa, we used to have 6 on 6 girls basketball, in which players were not allowed to cross half court. One quirky rule was that each player was only allowed to dribble the ball twice. Two bounces, and that was it. Another rule was that the defense could not touch the ball if it was in the offensive player's hands (unless she was in the lane, then it was fair game.) I believe the call for this was "illegal use of the hands," but I'm not sure.
JR: these are the girl's rules from the 50's, n'est pas?

Si, Signor.


A friend of mine was playing by these rules in Iowa in the mid 80's!!

TXMATTHEW05 Mon Jan 12, 2004 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by TXMATTHEW05
Your lucky number is 32345543423225. Watch for it everywhere!
Love it!


Isn't it hilarious? I have all kinds of different quotes like that...I'll change them periodically.

:D

williebfree Mon Jan 12, 2004 10:09pm

Re: Re: Re: To: JR
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
In Iowa, we used to have 6 on 6 girls basketball, in which players were not allowed to cross half court. One quirky rule was that each player was only allowed to dribble the ball twice. Two bounces, and that was it. Another rule was that the defense could not touch the ball if it was in the offensive player's hands (unless she was in the lane, then it was fair game.) I believe the call for this was "illegal use of the hands," but I'm not sure.
JR: these are the girl's rules from the 50's, n'est pas?

Si, Signor.


A friend of mine was playing by these rules in Iowa in the mid 80's!!

I "second" Rainmaker's comment:

I dated a girl from Iowa in Aug 1984, she had played by the 6-on-6 rules... Even when she was in WI, now you can see why I discontinued the courtship :D

ChuckElias Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
There is no "illegal use of the hands" either.
Huh? :confused:

Adam, check out signal #12 in the back of your rulebook. . .

BktBallRef Tue Jan 13, 2004 11:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
There is no "illegal use of the hands" either.
Huh? :confused:

Adam, check out signal #12 in the back of your rulebook. . .

And...

"Any act or tactic of illegal use of hands, arms or body (offense or defense) that intentionally slows, prevents, impedes the progress or displaces an opposing player due to the contact, is a foul and must be called."

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2004 04:18pm

Re: Re: Re: To: JR
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
A friend of mine was playing by these rules in Iowa in the mid 80's!!
Yep. Schools in Iowa had the choice between 6 player or 5 player in the 80's. In the mid 90's, the Girls' Union announced all schools would go to 5 player girls' basketball. I want to say, off hand, that the last 6-player games were played in '94 or '95. I graduated in 1992, and my school still played 6 on 6 then.

Adam

Adam Tue Jan 13, 2004 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
There is no "illegal use of the hands" either.
Huh? :confused:

Adam, check out signal #12 in the back of your rulebook. . .

And...

"Any act or tactic of illegal use of hands, arms or body (offense or defense) that intentionally slows, prevents, impedes the progress or displaces an opposing player due to the contact, is a foul and must be called."

Well, color me embarrassed and call me wrong. I humbly submit, your honor. Will that be 20 lashes, or 21?

Oops


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1