The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 06:47am
Official Forum Member

Last night I had to T up two Asst Coaches trying to be Bobby Knight. In both instances the coaches jumped off the bench and yelled at the top of their lungs at my partner.

Well, when I got home I was telling my 17 year old son (who plays HS B-Ball) what happened and he said "Dad I know they didn't yell at you". I replied no, but why do you say that and he asks "were they White Coaches", I said yes, "with White players" I say yes "and was your partner White" I say yes, my son ended, "they are not going to yell and scream at a Black Referee because they are afraid of how you might react". It made me think for a minute and you know, noone has yelled or screamed in my face, YET!

Since I'm new to officiating is this somewhat true?
Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 08:08am
Official Forum Member

I think....

the fact that you have't been screamed at yet by a coach is more the result of you're being a relatively new official, than it is the fact that you're black. Do this long enough; it will happen to you, too. UNLESS, you're a 6'-6" 280# black man. Then, you may never have a coach scream at you. And if that's the case, I'll take you as a partner anytime!!

Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 08:39am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by Woodee
Last night I had to T up two Asst Coaches trying to be Bobby Knight. In both instances the coaches jumped off the bench and yelled at the top of their lungs at my partner.