The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 08, 2004, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Let's try this again!

Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
R 6-3-5 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possesion arrow.
=====================

In response to the original situation, call the kicking violation on the first (And only AP throw-in attempt).

By rule, R 4-41-5, the AP throw-in ends when AN inbounds player (other than the thrower) touches it.

Therefore, the AP switches AFTER THE FIRST throw-in attempt was completed, when kicked by B1.

Now, administer the second throw-in (as the result of the kicking violation).

What has happened? Team A has ultimately been allowed to make the throw-in which it was entitled to AND Team B now has the arrow.

Can it be any more simple (or dificult) than this?

Yes, it can be more difficult that that. What if B fouls before the second throw-in is completed? Now, A has lost a distinct advantage, not because they did anything wrong (B violated, AND fouled) but because of B being very naughty indeed. Can't make it add up no matter how hard I try.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1