The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket interference (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11561-basket-interference.html)

caref Wed Jan 07, 2004 08:46pm

Last night watching the boys varsity games before my girls varsity game. Player for team A shoots in a crowd, ball halfway down through the net whens teammate A toches the net accidently

No call. Opposing coach goes nuts yelling at the lead. Not his call. The trail msut ahve thought it had no effect on the shot in anyway.

The touching had no effect on the shot, but by rule it appeared to be basket interference.


Opinions/ clarification welcome


BktBallRef Wed Jan 07, 2004 08:51pm

By rule, it's BI.

Makes no difference whether it has an effect on the shot or not.

RookieDude Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:41pm

By rule BI...but, I don't see alot of veterans calling it.

Overheard a couple veterans discussing a possible BI play.

One Veteran said he had a play the other day that involved a player (B1) swatting at the ball as the player on offense (A1) was shooting a lay-up.

A1 missed the lay-up. The Coach for Team A said it was because B1 had "rattled" the backboard so hard that it made the ball come out of the basket.

B1 had attempted a blocked shot and hit the backboard. The veteran official said that it rattled the board pretty good, but he said he's got nuttin'.

The other veteran official said he could have called Basket Interference...

I got nothing, or if I think it was an attempt to rattle the backboard as opposed to an actual block...I got a "T".

Comments?

RD

BktBallRef Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
The other veteran official said he could have called Basket Interference...
It could be a lot of things but BI ain't one of 'em.

RookieDude Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:24pm

What are some other things you could call in that situation other than a "T"?

RD

BktBallRef Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:53am

It could be a missed shot.

It could be a made shot.

It could be a T.

It could not be BI.

TriggerMN Thu Jan 08, 2004 11:40am

BktBallRef et al-->

If, in this case, the ball goes through the hoop anyways, do you just let the play go to keep the flow, or do you blow it dead anyways?

bob jenkins Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
BktBallRef et al-->

If, in this case, the ball goes through the hoop anyways, do you just let the play go to keep the flow, or do you blow it dead anyways?

What do you mean by "in this case?"

If you mean "touching the net while the ball is in the net" (the first play posted), I usually let it go.

If you mean "slapping the backboard" (the second play posted), then whether the ball goes through the hoop or not has no bearing on the call. If it's intentional, I call it. If it's accidental, I don't.


rainmaker Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
BktBallRef et al-->

If, in this case, the ball goes through the hoop anyways, do you just let the play go to keep the flow, or do you blow it dead anyways?

What do you mean by "in this case?"

If you mean "touching the net while the ball is in the net" (the first play posted), I usually let it go.

In the first play posted, the net was touched by a teammate of the shooter. Do you let that go?

BktBallRef Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:07pm

As Bob implied, unless the ball is in the net and the defense knocks it out, I usually ignore this. But if the ball is sitting on the rim and the net is hit, it needs to be called, no matter who touches it.

rainmaker Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:14pm

I'm not disagreeing with this. Just wanting to be sure what Bob meant. When the ball is up in that general vicinity, there are arms and hands swinging all over the place, and it frequently happens that there is an accidental brush by either side. I can't see calling those. When DOES one call offensive BI?

BktBallRef Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I'm not disagreeing with this. Just wanting to be sure what Bob meant. When the ball is up in that general vicinity, there are arms and hands swinging all over the place, and it frequently happens that there is an accidental brush by either side. I can't see calling those. When DOES one call offensive BI?
If the ball is sitting on the rim, touching or hitting the net could affect whether the ball falls through or not. Insuch a case, BI needs to be called, no matter who hits the net.

If the ball is in the net and obviously going through, I wouldn't make a call unless the action forced the ball back out.

rainmaker Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I'm not disagreeing with this. Just wanting to be sure what Bob meant. When the ball is up in that general vicinity, there are arms and hands swinging all over the place, and it frequently happens that there is an accidental brush by either side. I can't see calling those. When DOES one call offensive BI?
If the ball is sitting on the rim, touching or hitting the net could affect whether the ball falls through or not. Insuch a case, BI needs to be called, no matter who hits the net.

If the ball is in the net and obviously going through, I wouldn't make a call unless the action forced the ball back out.

Okay, thanks. I don't see much of this, except when I work boys Varsity in the summer. But I do want to have a feel for it, just in case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1