The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Anybody catch the throw-in violation by Pepperdine last night? After a bucket, one player steps oob while a teammate picks up the ball. It took him a second or two to get the ball. In the mean time, the thrower-to-be steps back onto the court with one foot. Then the teammate tosses him the ball and he catches it with one foot in and one foot oob. Immediate whistle.

I have to admit, I don't understand this call. I would have thought that as long as the thrower then stepped oob before throwing it in, everything was kosher. I don't really see how this is different than if the thrower-to-be picks up the ball himself and then steps oob with it (in which case he/she will inevitably be straddling the line at some point in the process of stepping oob).
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2004, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
I thought that was strange myself. I didn't have the sound up when they showed the replays so I didn't hear what was said. I didn't see anything wrong with what the inbounder did.
__________________
"Who you talkin' to?
You talking to me?
You're gonna be outta
here in about 3 seconds!"
-Tim Higgins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1