The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   setting the arrow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1144-setting-arrow.html)

joec Sat Nov 25, 2000 01:04am

Situation: The opening tip goes out of bounds off the visiting team (B). A is throwing the ball in from the side. A is called for a 5 second throw in violation.
When is the possession arrow set? I believe the arrow should have been set when the ball was placed at the disposal of A after the initial tip had been hit OOB. The arrow should be for B. I believe I screwed this up tonight at a varsity game. I set the arrow for A after the ball had been touched on the floor by B after the throw in (by B)following the 5 second violation. Commentary please, would be most welcome and appreciated

Mark Padgett Sat Nov 25, 2000 02:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by joec
Situation: The opening tip goes out of bounds off the visiting team (B). A is throwing the ball in from the side. A is called for a 5 second throw in violation.
When is the possession arrow set? I believe the arrow should have been set when the ball was placed at the disposal of A after the initial tip had been hit OOB. The arrow should be for B. I believe I screwed this up tonight at a varsity game. I set the arrow for A after the ball had been touched on the floor by B after the throw in (by B)following the 5 second violation. Commentary please, would be most welcome and appreciated

Since team B violated (caused the ball to go OOB) prior to a team gaining team control of the opening jump ball, by NF rule, team A gets a throw-in and the arrow is set to team B as soon as the ball is at the disposal of A for the throw-in.

Also by rule, when team A then violated on the throw-in, they lose the ball and the arrow. This is the only time the arrow is changed when a throw-in is not completed.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 25, 2000 10:09am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by joec

Also by rule, when team A then violated on the throw-in, they lose the ball and the arrow. This is the only time the arrow is changed when a throw-in is not completed. [/B]
I think Mark just misspoke when he said A loses the arrow. During a normal AP sitch, this would be correct.

In this sitch, since A had the ball because of B's initial violation and B had the arrow, A simply loses the ball. B keeps the arrow. Don't change the arrow after B's throw-in. B got the ball because of A's violation.

Bottom line - B's ball and B's arrow.

Mark Padgett Sat Nov 25, 2000 01:49pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by joec

Also by rule, when team A then violated on the throw-in, they lose the ball and the arrow. This is the only time the arrow is changed when a throw-in is not completed.

Quote:

I think Mark just misspoke when he said A loses the arrow. During a normal AP sitch, this would be correct.

In this sitch, since A had the ball because of B's initial violation and B had the arrow, A simply loses the ball. B keeps the arrow. Don't change the arrow after B's throw-in. B got the ball because of A's violation.

Bottom line - B's ball and B's arrow. [/B]
OOOPS - is my face red. Of course you are right. Since the throw-in is not an AP throw-in, normal throw-in rules apply.

That's what I get for looking at this stuff after eating turkey.

donfowler Thu Nov 30, 2000 12:15pm

Refer to 2000-01 NHFS case book 6.3.5A. "Violation by Team A during AP throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1