![]() |
|
|||
I have been studiously ignoring correctable error. It ain't gonna happen, except it did, for the first time to me, last summer, when I was warring with a particular scorekeeper. So, I need to be corrected if this is wrong . . .
As I glom it, there are two endpoints after which at which the correctableness of the five correctable errors expires, to wit: 2.10.2______Ball_____ |dead|___|alive|__|dead| ___________Clock____|stopped||running||stopped| 2.10.3______Ball_____ |dead|___|alive|__|dead| ___________Clock____|running||running||stopped| 2.10.2 applies to the first 4 errors, 10.2.3 to the 5th (the case where the ball has gone through the basket). Do not 2.10.2: " . . . during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started." and 2.10.3: " . . . before the second live ball." point to the same place, the only difference being the state of the clock during the changes in the status of the ball? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In the first scenario, there could be several live and dead balls that happen before the clock is started. For example, if two unmerited FTs awarded, the ball will become live and dead on the first and second FT (if made) before the clock is started. Another example---ball is put at player's disposal for a throw-in and one team calls a time out. Live ball, dead ball, but clock hasn't yet started. In both scenarios, the second dead ball does not have to occur with a stopped clock. It could occur with a scored basket as well. |
|
|||
The play sequence is the same whether or not the clock was running or stopped. Both scenarios below must be corrected before the second live ball.
If the error was made while the clock was stopped, you must correct before the 1st dead ball becomes alive after the clock has started. If the error was made while the clock was running, it must be corrected before the second live ball. |
|
|||
How is what you say not what the table shows?
Quote:
|
|
|||
No need for two sub parts of this rule. Here's how I think it should be worded...
The error is correctable if it is recognized during the first dead ball and after the ball has been live while the clock is running. Note that the ball is never "alive". If it appears to become alive, run for your life. |
|
|||
Thank you, Cameron. In my private life
Quote:
|
|
|||
Seriously, are you saying . . .
Quote:
"The error is correctable if it is recognized any time before the end of the first dead ball after the ball has been live with the clock running." I think this is cleaner, if it's correct. |
|
|||
Re: Seriously, are you saying . . .
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|