The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 329
Send a message via Yahoo to drinkeii
Hi - got a question. I know the rules are pretty clear on what is team control and player control. If a player loses a ball, and the other team does not secure control, it is still considered to be "in control" of the team who last had team control.

If Team A is in control in their frontcourt, and a ball is knocked loose by the other team (not gaining control, just tipping it out, so to speak) and it goes into the backcourt, is it a backcourt violation if team A retrieves it in in the backcourt? Most people signal that there was a tip, and allow them to retrieve it. The way I read the rules, it is a backcourt violation. This comes up all the time in the league I run (where I am training the refs, also... high school intramural league), and I want to make sure I get it right.

Can you provide a rules reference either way? Thanks!

Dave Rinke
Northwest PA Collegiate Academy
Intramurals Director
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1