The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1122-team-control.html)

williebfree Sat Nov 18, 2000 12:22pm

Hello... This is a new to me, as is officiating. I am in my 2nd year of offictitating.) My Mentor could not clearly and decisively explain how team control has application to a game situation. Anyone willing to clarify this for me?

Thanks

JRutledge Sat Nov 18, 2000 12:50pm

Team Control

What do you need to be explained? Team control is very easy to understand if you look at the "Definition" section of the rulebook. Basically team control never changes until the defense takes it away by stealing the ball or the offense shooting the ball. But the rulebook explains all the situations a team remains in control, as related to the rulebook.

Quote:

Originally posted by williebfree
Hello... This is a new to me, as is officiating. I am in my 2nd year of offictitating.) My Mentor could not clearly and decisively explain how team control has application to a game situation. Anyone willing to clarify this for me?

Thanks

Bradley Batt Sat Nov 18, 2000 01:08pm

Give us a game situation and I'm sure that there will be plenty on this board willing to help! :)

JC Sat Nov 18, 2000 02:01pm

Williebfree:
2 instances where team control is important quickly come to mind.

First is the never ending discussion here about over-and-back violations. Knowing team control is essential in getting this call correct.

Second would be an inadvertent whistle. Knowing who has team control (if anyone) when we make this mistake is required to get it right.

mick Sat Nov 18, 2000 05:59pm

Definition per HS Rule Book

Quote:

Thanks

Rule 4 Section 12 Control, Player and Team

Art.1...A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control during an interupted dribble.